Hello!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
June 7th 2014
Published: June 7th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone,

Firstly, apologies for my complete lack of blog posts the past month or so... I have have been frantically studying for my degree and I have had numerous deadlines to meet. It has not been easy by any means as I have often not had an internet connection! However, all done now and back to enjoying things!

I am currently in Phuket, Thailand which is absolutely beautiful! There is lots of rain at the moment as it is their wet season, but enjoying all the sights none the less and loving the Thai food! My fave!

We have visited so many places in South East Asia so far and all have been amazing! I fell in love with the Gilli Islands (near Lombok and Bali) as they are so far from anything I have ever visited before. There are no cars or motorcycles allowed on the islands at all so everyone gets around by peddle bike or a tiny horse and cart. The islands are so very special and I am glad to have seen them now before they are ruined further by tourists. They are absolute paradise islands and look like a typical postcard picture! I have attached some photos for you all to see.

Bali was fantastic but very hard to get around as the traffic is so bad! A small, short journey can take up to three hours. Aside from this, there are so many great places to visit, one of them being the Tanah Lot Temple in the sea! We watched a beautiful sunset there.

We have also visited Kuala Lumpur and Singapore as we needed to stop over in cities to wash our clothes etc! Singapore is very Westernised and reminds me of an extremely clean London.

We have met so many local people in all the places we have visited and they are all so lovely! We have found them hugely generous and welcoming, which is a delight. We had a lovely guide in Bali that drove us around to various places and he was fantastic! These people really don't have a lot at all... his 'office' (as he called it) was just an open hut at the side of the road but he was so proud of it and showed us around as he and his colleagues made it themselves! Some of these places have been a complete culture shock, it has been an amazing experience that you all must have at some point!

Anyway, enough about me! How is everyone doing? The show is very close now, how are rehearsals going?

I am so looking forward to summer school this year (week of the 28th July) to see you all again! I am putting new exciting things together for it as we speak 😊

Lots of love,

Miss Jo x

Ps, lots of photos attached for you to see! 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Bali - Ubud MarketBali - Ubud Market
Bali - Ubud Market

Sleepy dog (I don't blame him!)


Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0605s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb