Time really flies when we're having fun.


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Krabi
March 22nd 2011
Published: March 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
Ban NaichongBan NaichongBan Naichong

A small and really nice school. They posted pictures of the volunteers as a thank you :-)
It's hard to believe my month teaching is over. It was really sad saying goodbye to my house-mom, the volunteers and the students, but I'm excited to put my backpack on and start exploring SE Asia!

In addition to having some fun teaching English and playing with the students, I had a blast enjoying Ao Nong beach after school, climbing 1,200+ stairs to the Tiger Temple, and taking a fun weekend trip to Phuket. It was one of the volunteers' birthday, so we shared a 10 person dorm room on Patong beach.... felt like I was back in college!.... crazy and strange place, but fun times and great memories with good people :-)

Hope this finds you all happy and well. Big smiles and hugs XO


Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

English classroom/libraryEnglish classroom/library
English classroom/library

It was fun teaching in such an open, warm room surrounded by English posters, windows and books. I really enjoyed it.
Red Light, Green LightRed Light, Green Light
Red Light, Green Light

Who knew learning the words to describe stop signs could be so much fun!
Thai DancersThai Dancers
Thai Dancers

I loved watching them practice. What a beautiful form of dance and great representation of their culture.
Hula-hoopHula-hoop
Hula-hoop

Having fun with the girls at school.
Teaching with AmyTeaching with Amy
Teaching with Amy

P-4. The small classes made it much easier and Amy from America was a great person to teach with! I immediately fell in love with the kids and school.
Care ClassCare Class
Care Class

Ready for their naps.
Hangin' Outside with the KidsHangin' Outside with the Kids
Hangin' Outside with the Kids

We played lots of games, took lots of pictures, played with technology and sang lots of songs. I really enjoyed it.
Post-lunch PlaytimePost-lunch Playtime
Post-lunch Playtime

We played after a delicious lunch. I went back for seconds every day :-)
P-5P-5
P-5

So smart and sweet!
Loving the TechnologyLoving the Technology
Loving the Technology

A fun way to play without dripping with sweat afterwards ;-)
Just Beiber Fever!Just Beiber Fever!
Just Beiber Fever!

...he's pretty much the only celebrity the students know... the girls love him so much and literally screamed and jumped for joy as I played his music videos. Reminded me of the Beatles movie.
Serious SoccerSerious Soccer
Serious Soccer

The boys played a game as the girls played with stickers :-)
Fun in the sunFun in the sun
Fun in the sun

My little loves!
Final DayFinal Day
Final Day

The 3 of us kept very busy with these class of 30+
The NoteThe Note
The Note

I almost cried tears of joy as one of the girls showed me this. What a great use of English.
Thank You CeremonyThank You Ceremony
Thank You Ceremony

They thanked the volunteers and asked us to say a few words before a lunch-time Thai feast. What an experience.
My Wonderful House-MomMy Wonderful House-Mom
My Wonderful House-Mom

I will really miss my roommates, my house-mom and her cooking. She's a tailor, so she made me a beautiful bag as a goodbye gift <3
Last DinnerLast Dinner
Last Dinner

The dining room where magic happened.


22nd March 2011
The little ones.

How precious!
Laura, it looks like you are having an amzing time! I am so glad!!
22nd March 2011

Teaching
Hey Laura! It's fun living through your blog! :-) I have a friend who's son is very interested in the abroad teaching, like what you did. Did you work through a particular company? I can let him know about it and he can start investigating if so. We miss you!!! Love, Brooke
22nd March 2011

You look radiant
So happy to see the pictures of you and the students. Sounds like the beginning of a wonderful adventure
23rd March 2011

Way to go chica!
I'm proud of you Laura! I wish you continued success on the rest of your SE Asia expedition. :) Pete
6th April 2011

wow!
Amazing! I can't beleive it has been a month already! Have fun and be safe on your travels. Looks like the kids loved you of course:) Love, Jen

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb