After Party Side Effects


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Tao
November 13th 2008
Published: November 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 5


A Day to Recover



I guess it was the toxicity of the Thai red bull or tonic that I realize it was fatal to get a sound sleep and that I am awake or that my eyes are merely open and I could walk around in hangover but paralyzed as much to think or do any work. I was blank! And all that I hear is Madonna singing loudly nonstop the song “Give it to me!” Sometime under warm shower, sometime in Jacuzzi and with constant drinking of fluids from the fridge I dragged myself to book air tickets for Krabi next day. I realized it was futile attempt to make it to Phuket on road. All the flights to Phuket were already packed and I had thoughts to skip Krabi but now since I am handicapped there is no option but to give Krabi a chance to prove it worth.

A couple next door invited me to join them for a trip to Ko Tao island. Though reluctant I joined them in the trip. We boarded a private luxury boat charter to Ang Thong Marine National Park, a protected nature area consisting of over 40 islands, and is famous for its natural beauty. All of the islands are uninhabited and undeveloped except for one. This island, Ko Paluay, is inhabited by sea-gypsies who still earn a living from fishing. Couple hours later we reached Ko Tao and spent time “sun bathing” in cloudy sky at Sairee Beach. However we spent quality time in diving (and scuba diving) from some a remote location in Ko Tao.

I was stuck for about 2 hours in the central Chaweng beach road on return journey due to heavy rain. Next were those annoying hawkers trying to intimidate with you and then try to sell you suits. I am particularly disappointed with the fellow Indians who had come here and started up local roadside stalls and trying to sell all rubbish stuff - suits and junk handicrafts. Now I realize why the Indians have earned such a bad name outside country. I went to a medical shop and got some treatment for my feet which had bit bruises from Full Moon Party, night before. As the rain stopped, I was not in any good mood to go anywhere really ended up going back to my room and watching another English movie on my DVD player in my room and sipping some Japanese ice tea. Evening a bit hungry I had with some local seafood glass noodles at nearby Ruing Tong restaurant close to my hostel. I checked my mails to find Jose apologize and already in Chaweng and chilling by beach resort. So I decided to run into him for dinner instead.

I hit the Chaweng beach again. It was not raining but still cloudy and strong wind was blowing. I walked a mile up the Chaweng beach in dark and by the beautifully decorated and illuminated beach restaurants glowing with dining lights and candles. After a tiring walk a long way up the Chaweng beach almost to the northern end I could locate the beach resort he put up by Starbucks coffee. We headed for the Islander Bar for a couple of beers. Since he was not much hungry I order some pork chops and couple of pints of Singha beer. It was really nice to meet him. And I got to know a lot of information about Thailand. He had been here before and his love for Thailand draws him back here from concrete Vancouver. After speaking to him, I realized that I need to plug in Chiang Mai trek in my journey and he spoke of it in similar lines as the American lady I met at Khao San road hotel. I got to fit Chiang Mai somehow someway. The Islander Bar was nice and relaxing and all European like the entire islands. I noticed a funny street tout who had a monkey in his hand. Suddenly he places his monkey to the tourist and charges for 50 bahts. I forced Josh to crawl to my place who equally nursing a hangover. We went back to the street and time and again we were bugged by the slogans on street by moving vans and trucks shouting from the mikes and loud speakers -

"Tomorrow night!.. tomorrow night!..
big fight...big fight!. .
champion of champions!...
Muay Thai..big fight!"

and then some crazy irritating and funny Thai trumpet tune starts playing...and the van kept on coming back every 10 mins time wherever we went.
We took swaengthaw to Jose resort and on Jose suggestion I decided to get a Thai massage. I always wanted to try Thai massage. Jose recommended that any place Thai massages are best and fantastic. Jose went for a foot massage and while I tried the traditional Thai massage. Thai massage was an experience to remember. The lady went on breaking and tearing every tissues and back bones apart. It was an amazing experience and it went on for one complete hour. The lady wanted to know our the full moon party experience and mistook both of mine and Josh nationalities. Such a pain reliever the massage was that I guess I need more of this every day. I repeat I was in love with the Thai massage. I took the swaengthaw back to the south Chaweng to my guest house. I was very relaxed and felt a lot better and I guess I have recovered from Full Moon Party. Finally, I submitted myself to a welcoming goodnight sleep.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 13; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb