Dreamy days in paradise


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Phi Phi Don
April 29th 2012
Published: May 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

The next stop on my travels took me by plane to Phuket. This crazy piece of Thailand sits on the Andaman coast and is known for beaches,ladyboys and lots of crazy shenanigans! Decided to stay in a quieter part of town (chickens!) and surin beach was lovely but there wasn't a lot to do! Spent the first chilling-getting my best tan yet in record speed,the next day was a rain off as my first storm hit bringing torrential rain for 15hrs straight! Patong beach was the next destination and is really just like any other holiday resort- masses of people,cheap beer+ endless bargains from what I like to call 'looky looky' men! In true Clairey style I threw myself in buying to pairs of genuine fake ray ban sunglasses for........ £4! Anyway to finish this part,we went to see a Phuket legend known as FantaSea (yes that's really how they spell it!). Basically it's like being in the theatre where they tell you the legend of Kamala which is an area of Phuket. However unlike theatres at home it involved 30 elephants on stage at points,waterfalls,neon painted gymnasts descending from the dark above u and fire to name but a few. I like to imagine it would be what a drug taker would experience when they are tripping lol.

Moving on swiftly we come to Phi Phi island,or in my opinion paradise on earth! White sand,crystal clear water,multicoloured fish in the surf visable when snorkelling + a chilled out atmosphere like no else. I loved it there,by far my favourite part. Sunbathing,snorkelling,fruit shakes,party boats,eating my body weight in Thai+shopping captured my days. We took a day trip on a party boat which was great, met loads of people and saw the famous sites. Viking cave and Maya Bay which you all know as the beach where the film "The Beach" was filmed. Tranquil 😊 and the most gorgeous sunsets!!! Plus if you want to go anywhere you have to take a longboat which is fun jumping in+out. Loved every min 😊 Me,Ottis Redding on the itunes and beer made for happy days. On the last day I climbed to the top of Phi Phi viewpoint where u can see the whole of Phi Phi,breathtaking!!!

Leaving Phi Phi was hard,made some friends along the way but everyone going in opposite directions. Although its strange,you see people you have met before all the time. The travelling community really isn't that big and everyone does the same thing, in the same direction . From here I took the ferry to Krabi which is really just a stop gap to other places but stayed a few nights. Booked into a £7 a night hostel which was fab+met Stevie and Johnny,a lovely English couple who we have seen a lot of since. With these guys we went to the night market 2nights in a row for street vendor food,cheap beer and Thai entertainment! Loved it. Took a day trip to a nearby town known as Ao Nang and then from there on the boat to Railey beach. It was also amazing,proper chill out zone. Just sunbathed+listened to Bob Marley tunes float over me from the beach bar! Also home to the world's greatest tuna sandwich,it was sooooooooo good. **FACT**

I enjoyed my whole time there and learnt a lot about this part of the country. Also made some great friends but one thing I also discovered I'm afraid is Koreans are soo annoying. Not only do they find there way into every photo you take,they talk mega loud over each other+are rude,they also can't queue for shizzle and when in 1ft of water they will always dawn their life jackets! Safety first they say but jeezo even titanic wasn't that doomed!!! 1ft,u having a laugh-barely covers my ankles!!! Holey moley. Anyway each to there own and all that. Rant over.


Additional photos below
Photos: 40, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



3rd May 2012

Hello hope you get this message
Hi sending another message hope this one comes through. had another look at the photos. Better with the captions. Looks lovely. You are both obviously having a great time. Enjoy your last week in Thailand before you set off for Oz. Take care love you xxxxxx
4th May 2012

Definately having a great time,I'm sure scotland will get some of this nice weather soon :p Enjoy your next holiday Matron,hope Hayley tidys thy sheet as she goes ;) Mum,il make sure and enjoy every last minute before Oz although I'm fairly getting excited about that now! Love u lots xxxxxxxx :)
3rd May 2012

Im so jealouse looks fantastic.First day bac to work today had a good day ,had Haylay helping me she is doing my typing whislt u 2 are away LOL.well ill be back in the sun 2wks on sunday but wont be as nice as where u r (Benidorm). xxx

Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 15; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0654s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb