Yet another Island!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Phi Phi Don
November 22nd 2005
Published: November 23rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Dear All

What can I say, another day, another island. I arrived in Ko Phi Phi this morning with 5 other girls, a mixture of Swedish, Belgian and Dutch. They have been doing voluntary work in Hat Yai teaching English to Muslim children - I thought about doing it myself for about 5 minutes until they informed me they had to sleep in a wooden hut, on the floor for two weeks amongst cockroaches and rats (I think I will pass)

Phuket wasn't for me, full of old Westerners with their young Thai 'girlfriends' so I hopped on a ferry to Ko Lanta. I checked my Lonely Planet & booked into a bungalow & met up with a Swedish girl (the first person I've met on their own - its not just me!!!!). I stayed their two nights then moved to next door, better place, nicer pool, and when I cleaned my teeth at the sink it didn't end up on my feet! It had a great chill-out place to sit, a wooden shack with a thatched roof on stilts hanging over the sea with small bamboo tables and floor cushions - I reckon I could turn into a
Ko LantaKo LantaKo Lanta

This wasn't the hammock I had in mind at home!
hippy cos I loved it. It was a great place to chill out and read or drink or eat or sleep, ahhhhh this is the life!

We rented a motorbike the other day to tour the island, its fairly poor & very quiet as its still the low season but it was good to get out & about. Had lunch in a wicked place called 'Same Same But Different', the bay was virtually empty.

Have been on yet another speedboat to a set of four islands for snorkelling. The second stop what a bit scary, the guides didn't tell us what we were to expect but we did notice the torches they were carrying. We all had to swim into a cave which was pitch black, the cave roof was about 1.5 feet above our heads and really narrow, quite scary at one point when I couldn't see the torch or anyone else. We were all swimming for about 5 mins, then we were in the middle the rock where there was a small lagoon - it really was magical & well worth the swim. The water was aqua blue and really stunning. A shame I couldn't take
Ko LantaKo LantaKo Lanta

Petrol station
a photo!

So what can I say about Ko Phi Phi! I think I have found a little piece of heaven, it is absolutely beautiful, aqua sea, pure white sand, blazing hot sun - magical. The tsunami hit here very badly and you can still see some damage but on the whole everything is running again. Whilst walking around you can see palm trees with no branches & signs for shops which aren't there anymore but its still a stunning place.

I could stay here for the next 11 months!!!........

Take care
Jen




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Ko Phi PhiKo Phi Phi
Ko Phi Phi

View from our resort
Ko Phi PhiKo Phi Phi
Ko Phi Phi

View from our resort


1st December 2005

guesthouse?
Hey jen, I was just wondering where you stayed that was semi decent. my friend are I are getting there tomorrow from krabi and would love a suggestion. Emily from Canada
5th December 2005

We stayed in the Blue Andaman - very cheap if you bargain hard!

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 7; qc: 49; dbt: 0.046s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb