Phi Phi Islands - Viewpoint and Memorial Gardens


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Phi Phi Don
April 21st 2008
Published: April 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

The Viewpoint and Tsunami Memorial Gardens



Although tired after the very busy day tour of both Phi Phi Islands I decided I would make the effort and climb the many steps to the Viewpoint which is regarded as one of the highlights of any trip to this area. It was still very hot and humid at 5.00 pm and I reckon I sweated off a few kilos on this island visit.

I made it to level one of the Viewpoint where there is a shop where you can sit at some tables and admire the view. I was suprised to see a large group of monkeys being fed by three other tourists, more monkeys than I had seen in most of my tours around Thailand. The pics don't do it justice but the view here is stunning as you look across Phi Phi Don towards Phi Phi Lay. The man who ran the shop took a couple of pics for me and I overheard him telling the other tourists that he had witnessed the Tsunami from this vantage point in 2004, something that will stay in his memory forever.

Another fairly long walk along a flatter pavement instead of steps to Viewpoint level 2 and we were rewarded with an even more impressive view from the sky. This place really is amazing - there were about sixty other locals and tourists admiring the scenery and of course another shop to buy souvenirs and drinks, food etc.

The next morning I had decided to locate the Tsunami Memorial Garden which I walked past without noticing the entrance, went onto the nearby beach and asked directions from a local girl who took me back near JJ Bungalow and told me to follow the soi. Well I thought I was heading in the wrong direction, lets just say that I found the alternative route to the Viewpoint. Yes I kept going and somehow ended up at the Viewpoint Level 1 and then had to walk all the way back down to find the Memorial Garden. I lost another couple of kilos in the heat but did find the gardens and spent about 45 minutes reminiscing about my father's lfe as he had recently passed away. I thought this spot would be appropriate as he was a lover of the sea.

The memorial garden is very well kept with a nice pond and a collection of plaques with the names of persons lost in the Tsunami including Troy Broadbridge the AFL footballer from Adelaide.

I then had a walk along the deserted beach, returned to the JJ Bungalow and checked out of my room - my luggage was taken to the pier as shown in the pics by the bell boy who deserved the tip I gave him for the carting my gear in the sweltering heat.

The ferry was a bit of a worry on the outgoing voyage as it was definitely overcrowded and they covered the exit routes downstairs with back packs and other luggage. There is no way I would catch the ferry in high seas as it would be a death trap in bad conditions.

We made it back to the Krabi Pier safely and I caught a Chao Kow Group taxi truck back to Krabi Town instead of using the taxi mafia and the guy driving the truck offered to take me to the airport in his mini van a bit later for a total cost of 300 baht, about $A12 - I had used my bartering skills to get this price.

I was tired and ready to fly back to Bangkok after a busy three days on the Phi Phi Islands, a must see destination in Thailand.

Click on the pics if you want a larger view and select next to see all the pictures.


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Viewpoint - Level 1Viewpoint - Level 1
Viewpoint - Level 1

I saw more monkeys here than anywhere else in Thailand
Follow this sign to the ViewpointFollow this sign to the Viewpoint
Follow this sign to the Viewpoint

If you follow this sign on the soi near JJ Bungalow you will find a new route to the Viewpoint. Follow the track to the top of the mountain, when you finally reach some resort buildings turn left on the track through the jungle till you reach some huts, turn left again and you will be on the track normally used to get to the Viewpoint - ask a local if you get lost anywhere on this track, I just kept going to higher ground
Route 2 to the ViewpointRoute 2 to the Viewpoint
Route 2 to the Viewpoint

I passed this empty water trap


25th April 2008

Phi Phi
Hi Leon, The Phi Phi islands are amazingly beautiful bad luck about some of the tourists though. Hate to think you drowned perving on a woman. Your blog is great again it is fantastic to keep up with your adventures. keep having fun. Anthea
23rd October 2013

Phi phi memorial garden
Just letting people know that went to memorial gardens today23oct2013 to pay respects what a disgrace. They have been allowed to fall into an unloved state of disrepair overgrown with some dirty half done building site in front made me cry at the total lack of disrespect this place has been shown wake up phi phi the 10th anniversary is coming so please do something about this as I'm sure victims loved ones will be utterly appalled.

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0649s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb