Songkran!!!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Pha-Ngan
April 14th 2011
Published: April 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

It was Songkran on 13th April, so I'm a bit late writing this blog, but its been a busy few days what with Lisa, Beckie, Kate and Sam arriving. Great to see everyone! Back to Songkran though. What an amazing day!!!

I wasn't sure whether to go to Thong Sala, the capital of Koh Phangan to celebrate Songkran as my foot was supposed to be kept dry and I wanted to heal as quickly as possible. However it soon became clear than even just going to a restaurant for lunch was going to result in me getting drenched, even if I stayed in Haad Rin, which isn't even the main place they celebrate it here. So I made a makeshift cover for my foot out of a plastic bag and me and Nat headed to Thong Sala.

The journey there was one of the maddest experiences ever. We went to Thong Sala in a songthaew - this is like a converted pick up truck, with benches in the back for people to sit on, it has open windows, which I soon realised made us sitting targets for everyone celebrating Songkran. As we went round corners people lay in ambush with super soakers and buckets of water and sometimes even hose pipes. They refilled out of huge vats of water, some which had definitely had ice in too, it was sooo cold!!! I'd like to say it was refreshing in the heat, but it was too cold for that, it was more of a shock. All good fun though!!! Me, Nat and the other people on the songthaew tried our best to retaliate with our super soakers, but we soon ran out of water and just gave in to the drenching we received. If it had have been a war, we definitely lost!!

Once we arrived in Thong Sala it was time to get our own back. My bag protecting my foot was drenched through, so I decided to find a nice dry bar close enough to the action to watch while my foot dried out (I was a bit scared I'd get told off by the girls at the clinic who told me to keep it dry, but on Songkran - really??!! I had no chance). Nat on the other hand regressed to a 10 year old boy and took both super soakers and Rambo style set about drenching everyone he could. It was hilarious!!! In the main town everyone stood by the sides of the streets with their weapons while pick up trucks went through the street with lots of people on all with their own vats of water and buckers, water pistols etc. There was music playing from all the bars and the people on the pick up trucks danced as they went past, it felt like a real carnival atmosphere!!! What an experience.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



16th April 2011

Fun!
Thanks for this one Donna ........... have to agree Nat looks a if he has returned to childhood but I reckon form one pic he should pick on someone his own size!! Hope the foot is healing despite the soaking! XXX
19th April 2011

Loving it
Donna, your travel blog's brilliant. So good to have news of all your adventures. Hope that hideous toe injury isn't too painful now, it sounded really grim. Poor you. How exciting to think tomorrow's the Day. Hoping to be at hut suitable marking the occasion: we'll be thinking of you all anyway. have a fabulous day. Love, Kate
20th April 2011

thinking of you
hi, just to let you know that we will be thinking of you both tomorrow, wishing you both the very best of luck for the future lots of love Marie & Brian xxxxxxxxx

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 71; dbt: 0.065s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb