Full Moon Party - recommend viewing strictly for Adults only


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Pha-Ngan
November 12th 2008
Published: November 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

When Full Moon Rises Creatures of the Night come out. Their only target is to look out for preys, trap them and....



I remember the words Darren told me “last time I was here in speedboat on way here mate! 80%!o(MISSING)f the people puked!!!”
and words kept ringing in my ears. When we neared "the party island" Ko Phangan I realized I am still alive and escaped any scratch or injury though still in state of shock. I am glad that my agony is finally over. Regaining my vigor I discussed on football with Swedes on way to Island and I was surprised that they knew game of cricket and loved the game. At the entrance of the island I reluctantly had to pay beach maintenance group for entry. After we crossed the barrier I was greeted with never ending array all the sacks, huts, mushroomed clubs, bars, open air eateries selling liquors, party and rave utilities by each side of the earthen roads and needless to say to be packed with “Farangs”. I could not find the way to the Haad Rin Beach and got diverted to bars and clubs where the people were clubbing inside. I also got memorized by the beauty of the girls by the beach and party of the girls who were dancing there, most of them wearing temporary tattoos of Full Moon Party. I also sat by the road and watched some get tattoos engraved in their back, arms, legs, abs and other various parts of body. But the best looking are the bracelets made form light sabers and glowing neon gel which were really wicked and drove me crazy! I followed their steps and slugging my way to Cactus bar and good get a glimpse at what the Full Moon Party looked like. I felt like entire party community of Europe, Russia, Israel, South Africa and Australia (all white people) have moved here and made it their permanent residence. I stood by the bar waiting for Josh, my Canadian friend. But after a long wait I could not site him and later I found out that he was waiting for me in “Same Same Bar” and lost his mobile while trying to text me. It was difficult to call him with the loud speakers bursting around in addition to the fine ladies shouting around me.

Given up all hopes to meet Josh during the party a tall thin blonde girl by the bar table caught my attention who was eyeing me constantly. I thought I befriend her. I started talking to her and guessed it right - she was from Moscow. We shared the same drink some sweet chocolaty rum like liquor and later couple of Tequila shots. I was surprised by her tequila consuming ability. Unlike Russian vodka which she detest she turned out to be tequila champion. I guess due to abundance of vodka in Russia people prefer foreign liquor. The rain which interrupted our party mood stopped and could noticed the full moon peep through the clouds. The Russian girl met up with her compatriot of same name and we parted ways to see the fire shows by the beach. Mostly thai people or people from the bars started swinging and performing various tricks with the fire sticks which are basically wooden sticks with ropes twisted around sticks on either end and soaked in diesel and then burned. Slowly and steadily the intensity of music rise up and though it was an open beach with a long stretch the music started to vibrate and explode. More and more European ravers, party girls with glow sticks and body colored people started pouring in like rain.

I decided to take a break and sat relax and chill by the beach watching mesmerized at the fire show when a girl turned virtually dropped on me from the sky. She spoke in heavy British accent and lucky that I found girl company. Then to my surprise she offered me to drink an entire sealed bottle of vodka! I hooked up for a while and I could realize the guy who made the cocktail “Sex in The beach” may have had similar experiences. After a brief romantic episode I headed back to Cactus Bar to locate the toilet. Luckily it was near by and the toilet resembled a brothel and funny incident like girls turned up in the guys toilets looking around guys how they try to urinate and try to imitate us. Some lay sleeping at open toilet door. What the hell is happening! People have become nuts or seriously out of mind. Still no signs of Josh, and I head back to beach to look for the girl I met only to find she has disappeared. Now the beach is completely packed. Though I believe it did not reach the usual gathering of 30,000 ravers but the number may reach in ten of thousands of people. I just could not imagine if beach reached 30,000 people what it would look like. Soon there was another round of fire show and this time there was an addition to fire sticks in the form of mammoth fire skipping wire. The entire rope was approximately of same length as badminton court net is been lit and when set on motion by two persons holding in either end of the rope resembled a giant fire wave. Some people even tried to skip some succeeded without burns while some could not escape without scars and burns. Met up with some crazy Irish people who dressed up in Greek chlamys, Roman Toga dress and dancing around while there are few who wore the feathered Red Indian headband dancing with equal intensity. Then there was one gentleman who wore an one piece ladies robe and placed two buckets at his chest to create fake boobs. No doubt full moon has taken out all darker instincts in people. On the way back, I met the crazy French gang from the boat again who started to chant “Don’t be afraid Arnab! Don’t be afraid”. Though they insisted me to stay back with them I preferred to move on only to be stopped by German girl who wanted to dance with me an offer I couldn’t reject. The crazy dance that followed confused some Parisian guys around to think of us as couple. It was around 12 o’clock following the advice of David had my first legendary full moon party “bucket” (which is a mixture of liquor either of SangSom or Smirnoff or Gin with aerated drinks like Coke, some tonic and Thai Red Bull which is banned in most countries due to toxicity). I took the SangSom bucket which contained Thai whisky but actually is a rum. I liked the taste of it and finished the bucket soon and headed back to Cactus Bar. I found myself in the middle of a group of Israelis and Romanians whom I could recognize by the glowing tattoo of their respective countries. They could make some funny faces and the expressions they made while dancing just cracked me up. When I reached the floor of Cactus Bar it was dark and people were dancing at the floor as well as on thin bar table at each corner. But I could barely see any of them but I could make out from the glowing tattoos on their abs and back that they were from South Africa and that they wore no more than lingerie! And they pulled me to them and dance and have merry. Back to the beach I fetched another bucket (gin) and sat on a vacant chair sipping and relaxing a while I met up with American girl who traveling around the world and ended up in Thailand from China. She was happy that we could converse in better English. I held myself up for another round of dancing session for a while before going back to fetch another bucket which on way I had to share first with an Irish girl, then a Australian girl then couple of Hungarian girls from Malaga, Spain and plenty unknown others who just dipped their straws and sucked substantial quantity of bucket. None the less I was tripped I feel and passed out for a while only to wake up to find that the fire shows have stopped and the dancing are more centered towards the extreme corner of the beach towards Paradise Bungalows where it was jam-packed and rest of the stretch of the beach open “love making” sessions were going on while some head to the sea to swim while some headed up the hill to have magic mushroom shake. I was bugged by a big German guy who kept chasing me to dance with him and showing his steps but luckily I escaped him to dance close to bar with others.

As the dawn broke and could see the sun rise up I bought my last bucket. I am in totally in love with Sangsom bucket! I found the way back to the ferry point and sat at the edge of the sea and didn’t care much if I fall down and die. But luckily nothing happened and me and others in the queue could board the speedboat though my bucket suffered a massive spill and could not make it to the boat. Not repeating my mistake of sitting in front of speedboat I got myself a backseat. The pickup van picked us up as soon as we reached Samui and transferred to our respective hotels. I was really surprised as to how I could go back to my room finding the right road, locating my hotel and opening keys and finding rest in my bed. What a wicked wild night and what a party! I could still hear tune of Madonna ringing in my ears loudly "Give it to me..Yeaah"!





Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.035s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb