More Thailand...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Sukhothai
November 16th 2010
Published: November 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Currently in Bangkok right now but spent a few days in Phitsanulok, mainly for a day trip to this great little place called Sukothai. Prepare yourself, there are ruins and Buddhas to come... shocker, I know... 😉

Bit of background, this site was built and during the 13th century and was the main city for about 150 years. What is left from nearly 100 sites ranged from a few stones on the ground to some fairly spectacular sites. Much of what is visible and what are the premier sites have had some restoration but only to what it would have been at that time. Some of the sites are within what was the city wall, easily navigatable on foot, but there are roughly 70 sites outside the walls in a 5km radius, so I rented a bike for the day. I met up with a nice young couple from the UK who also rented bikes so we all travelled the day together. What was really nice is for the first time in many, many, many days, I didn't have to look at a map, make any decisions or anything, just follow along. The fellow, Dan, a bit of a control freak, and his girlfriend, Jeanette, kind of the same so I just let them decide everything and nod, it was quite wonderful! It was blisteringly hot with a clear sky so not much cover from the sun. I know, boo hoo... but that was too hot, humid.

Lastly, I leave for Myanmar tomorrow. I've booked a flight into Yangon and will likely be in that city for five days. I think the internet in Yangon is fairly well-connected and will likely be able to post pictures and stories while there but unsure about outside that city. From what I've read, it's a bit hit and miss with electricity so internet might be a pipe dream. I'll update as I can but for those of you who think I'm a bit long-winded, that will be your rest time...


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

S6S6
S6

same pic as previous but I loved the reflection in the still water
s8s8
s8

one site was at the top of this hill, the view was stunning
s9s9
s9

here is the 9m tall Buddha at the top of that hill
s11s11
s11

arty shot
s12s12
s12

me to show the size of the elongated fingers
s13s13
s13

proof that I was on a bike!
s14s14
s14

I just loved the reflections in the ponds around all the sites. this lotus is for Loi Krutong festival, full moon festival in Thailand in November


16th November 2010

Hey
Hey Cheryl...wonderful to hear from you as usual. I'm happy that you are meeting people along the way. It probably makes asking someone to take your picture alot easier. When you are finished with this adventure you should apply to be a participant on the next Amazing Race...with all the world travelling experience you are getting you'd do great. I look forward to the next post. Take care. We miss you. Marlene
16th November 2010

Thailand
Hello Cheryl! That is one big Buddha! In Phuket when Dave & I were there they claimed to have Thailand's largest Buddha. It was completed this year and stood at the top of the mountain so it could cast its light on everyone. The difference is that this one you saw looks old and purposeful. The one in Phuket, well, it looked like a tourist trap. We never did go up and see it because you could see it from almost everywhere you went. Dave and I saw a lot of Phuket and what it had to offer for tourists. It looks like you found some peaceful little finds. I love hearing your travel stories. Keep them coming :) Oh yeah, today we woke up to the first snow storm of the season, wind chills close to -15. Burrrrrr, I much prefer the fluffy snow not the icey yucky stuff that has crusted onto our house :) Good luck in Bankok!!! The night market is fun, if you haven't been there yet. Cheers Renee
16th November 2010

Hi from snowy Calgary
Hi Cheryl, the pictures are gorgeous that you are sending back. The holidays must be good, you are seeing everything that you planned on. Here at the home front it snowed last night and it is cold. Enjoy the warm weather as when you come home you will need your long pants and snow boots no sandals. Miika is enjoying school and he is learning a lot in school. He comes home and tells us all what he learned in school that day. Now they are learning O Canada in school and he almost can sing the full song. Will talk to you soon Take care. Mom & Dad
17th November 2010

Thanks so much for more blogs Cheryl. They brighten up my day! XO Robin
4th December 2010

WHERE ARE YOU
HAVEN'T HEARD FROM YOU IN AWHILE, VERY WORRIED...CALL ME A.S.A.P. !!!

Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb