Cleansing the Mind and Body


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Soppong
May 2nd 2008
Published: July 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My HostMy HostMy Host

Susanan our lovely Lisu Hilltribe host that looked after us with such warmth.
After such a brilliant time in Pai and for that matter, the whole of Asia, we both felt that we needed the detox. After the obligatory feed on junk food the night before we were ready to have our body and mind cleansed. When we first arrived I have to say we were both more than a little shocked. We were expecting it to be a detox in a nice enough place, near a traditional Thai Village. Instead we were to stay in a Lisu Hill Tribe Village called Nong Tong, in Mae Hong Son province. It is near the town of Soppong in the picturesque mountainous Northern Thailand. Our hosts were Susannah a traditaional Lisu Villager and Albert an american who had taken up residence with the family. The house was a two story basic wooden structure with an out house kitchen and toilet. Lucky for us they had a new addition to the building, a western toilet. I had a look at the old one and that would have involved us traipsing accross the yard for the pleasure of squatting and what with the mad weather that would have been a nightmare. The kitchen didn't even have a floor,
Typical Lisu HomeTypical Lisu HomeTypical Lisu Home

Just one of the houses in the village
we had to sit on the mud floor on little stools for dinner. To be honest I kind of liked it when the initaial shock wore off, as it made me feel that bit closer to nature, especially with the roaving cat, chickens and dog!

There was meditation, massage, yoga and herbal shakes included in the programme. Other than that there wasn't really much else to do because the weather was so bad. We just sat and read our books, caught up in my diary and contmplated life. Although I cant complain. We were really close to Myanmar(Burma) and they were facing a terrible fate as we only learned weeks later. I can't believe that so many people died, feel like we are so lucky, I had even considered going there for a brief moment, but decided against it because it is a troubled region.

I would just like to take a moment to give my thoughts to those that have lost loved ones, my heart goes out to them and I hope that they will be able to piece some remenants of their life back together.

While I was there away from all the distractions of
The Detoxers with their Host FamilyThe Detoxers with their Host FamilyThe Detoxers with their Host Family

This is Susanan, her son and Albert her American husband. Myself and Jess stayed with them for a couple of days in the hills of Sapong.
modern life I got time to have a think. I had been a little wound up and letting emotions get the better of me, I think because I hadn't been feeling very well. I touched base with my mind and really felt like all the cobwebs were blown out and I just let alot of stuff go. I resolved to try and work meditation into my daily life to try and cope with things better in future. We ended up leaving the programme early because of the bad weather and also we were getting stretched for time.

I really felt it had been worthwhile and I felt alot healthier. We decided that we would contiue our detox for the next seven days. It was to prove rather difficult when we got to Bangkok. In the meantime we left early one morning to get a bus to Pai. We were waiting for what seemed like ages when we saw two ladies that had been waiting at the bus stop with us, crossing the road. I went up to them and asked them if they were going to Pai, they were, so we got on the back of a pick-up truck
Off we go!Off we go!Off we go!

Travelling in style in the pouring rain
with them and off we went. It was such an experience, sitting on the back of the trick with the two ladies and a whole load of kitchen pots, garden tools you name it! Definately was a great authentic Thai experience for us, chatting away to the ladies, driving in the monsoon weather with the cold wind in our face wearing rain jackets and sun glasses!

We got a mini-bus from Pai down to Chang Mai, hung out there shopping and then got a uncomfortable night bus down to Bangkok.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.265s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0537s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb