8th november 2009


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Pai
November 8th 2009
Published: November 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Been in pai since yesterday afternoon, seems like a real nice chilled out place, more like a holiday destination than a town of thailand. I guess it must be judging by the amount of thais we watched buying the usual crap at the night markets. I was having dinner with my new Dutch friend Annelien who I met on the bus out here from chiang mai. She has just finished her law studies and is due to start work for a government oraganisation after travelling south east Asia. Went out for drinks last night and met a lovely couple of Irish girls, loads of fun!
Was due to meet again today but we kept missing each other at the sights. There's not a huge amount of things to do here but Annelien and I have kept ourselves busy riding round on a hired scooter visiting waterfalls and swimming in a guesthouse pool. One such waterfall nearly took my life, we climbed to the top to see the view and I hadn't noticed the slime build up. I felt my flipflops loose grip and put my hands down to steady myself. Due to the decline this wasn't gonna last long, as if in slow motion I began to slide backwards over the edge, nothing I could do about it. I picked up speed and my legs flew in the air over he ledge leaving my head to catch on it as I flew. Luckily there was a Minor pool before the water flowed over the big fall which I landed in with a big splash and laughter from the kids watching! The laughter stopped when the saw the blood running down my face from my eyebrow which I'd split open, this freaked them out and they ran to their parents lol my pride hurt more than my wounds and I climbed back up to a worried Annelien. A bit of justice came when a guy who'd laughed at my slip did the same thing on his arse, he attempted to throw his iPod back up before he hit the water but to no avail hehe!

Dinner with the Irish lasses and their new friends finished off the night :o)


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0583s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb