BKK to Mae Sai Pt 7 - Getting There


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Mae Sai
October 4th 2007
Published: October 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The Northernmost PointThe Northernmost PointThe Northernmost Point

A little over 24 hours travel time from Bangkok and here I am!
And so it seems that God did bless her - bless the both uf us! The bus was not sold out so once we left the station, she maneuvered herself into the aisle seat of a 3-seater that had no middle occupany nor a big farang in the window seat. No words were exchanged between us but a smile that said much more than either of us could have managed with the language difference.

Although the manner of travel I previously boasted about to Will Howe wasn't totally regrettable, I did commit to myself tha the trip back would be by air. I arrived in Mae Sai after another meal of Grab Pao Moo at a rest stop. It was about 6PM in the Mae Sai Bus Station - right on time. A motorcycle taxi ride was negotiated for 40 baht and the journey completed at "The Northernmost Point of Thailand" and my guesthouse Mae Sai Riverside Resort. Don't let the name fool you. It was on the side of a river, but it was NO resort!

Skytrain to MRT Subway to Overnight Train to Tourist Bus to Tuk-Tuk to Non A/C Bus to Motorcycle Taxi totalling a little
Riverside ResortRiverside ResortRiverside Resort

We use the term "Resort" loosely
over 24 hours. There I was in my room with a view ... of a gun turret in Burma (Myanmar). I guess it was all worth it!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Burma Gun TurretBurma Gun Turret
Burma Gun Turret

A room With a View!


Tot: 0.034s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0171s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb