Valentines day


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
February 14th 2014
Published: February 14th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Ok, I'm aOfficially ready to go home. Slept in and didn't want to waste my last full day. The hotel gave me a driver to take me to the factories where they make silk, umbrellas and have a huge and let me tell you ,a girl could get in trouble kind of gem factory store! I walked around with a beautiful jade bracelet on that cost more then my trip. And the most amazing stones. Towards the end of that showroom I saw they had a case of ivory carved items, and it totally turned me off. I did not buy from them. The silk factory was very cool. They took you through the whole process of how silk is made and into an even more dangerous showroom! The silk the had was so beautiful, you could just eat up the colors and feel of the incredible fabrics. There is very little space left in my suitcase but I was able to purchase a small item for my valentine. My driver was really nice and spoke pretty good English so we chatted as we made our way through the factories. We stopped where they paint the paper umbrellas and because I don't really need a big paper umbrella, I had the guy paint a dragon on my sneaker! It's pretty cool. I met a couple from the states living in pattya we talked about the elephant park and her husband liked my dragon painted shoe so much he had his Toms painted with an elephant.When I had lunch they have me a heart stirrer in my lemonade for valentines day.Dry run packing this afternoon, I think I have a system! I rolled each item up like a yoga mat, and it fits with a little room to spare! Now I can shop more! Went down the street for my last 9 dollar 1 1/2 hour foot and hand massage. Went to the night bazar one last time and on my return noticed lanterns ablaze in the sky. It is Buddha day and I think that's why. I went to the rooftop and watched for a long time. I talked to a mother and daughter who were traveling for 7 weeks together and having a blast, and a German couple that were very nice to talk to. It was so warm and beautiful out and the lanterns seem to go on and on.....

Advertisement



14th February 2014

valentines
Happy Valentine's day - sounds like a great day!! would have loved to have seen it all!! Have a good flight back!!

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.028s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb