Chiang Mai (11-14 Sep 13)


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
September 14th 2013
Published: September 14th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Wat Chedi LuangWat Chedi LuangWat Chedi Luang

I can't believe how I actually missed this my first visit here last year, and how it doesn't seem to be mentioned in my LP either! A large and impressive, Khmer-style like structure that I stumbled upon roaming the Old City.
After that brief sojourn to the highlands of the north, it was time to head back to the regional capital of Chiang Mai. And what a way to get back, as the mini-van driver drove as if in a frenzy down the winding hills, but thankfully got us all back in one piece, in a much faster-than-anticipated time of course.

Because I'd already spent some time in Chiang Mai last year, I originally planned to make it just another quick night or at most two, before heading up north again towards the Golden Triangle. But there's something about Chiang Mai that makes you want to stay a little looonger. Perhaps it's the pleasant climate, despite the intermittent rain that persistent during this rainy season. Perhaps it's the generally low-key and laid-back atmosphere, notwithstanding its deserved status as a major city. Cultural heritage seems to permeate the place, especially in the Old City, where I've read that there are in fact, at least dozens of temples. The people too just seem friendlier and less intense than in the capital. And for someone who has spent an extended time in Bangkok, not having to be on my guard perpetually regarding rip-off prices etc is much appreciated. Even the tourists here seem to be in less of a hurry, and of course, things are generally cheaper than in Bangkok.

As much as I would have liked to stay even longer, I did have a deadline, thanks to my expiring visa, and therefore had to continue with my journey towards the border. But despite this already being my second visit to Chiang Mai, I sense that I'll be back again before long.

Stayed at Daret's House.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Old School Type-writerOld School Type-writer
Old School Type-writer

With Thai script!
Please Pay Attention!Please Pay Attention!
Please Pay Attention!

I especially like how Rule No. 3 has been erased. Sort of.


Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0336s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb