current events


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
February 13th 2013
Published: February 15th 2013
Edit Blog Post

DSCF4185DSCF4185DSCF4185

Beckah
February 13th

The definition of happiness could be described in a million ways but true happiness is seeing one of your favorite people in the world coming running around the corner of the Chiang mai bus station to smother you in hugs in kisses after a 14 hour bus ride. We had made it! Deep down I thought there would be a chance Beckah would meet us at the station but because our train was 2 and a half hours late, I had given up on that dream. Which made it that much better. Beckah is a beam of sunshine radiating joy out of her pours. Which was a nice change of pace from my jet lag.

I haven’t seen Beckah since I dropped her off at the airport 1 year ago to begin her Thailand adventure as a 1st 2nd and 3rd grade teacher in Chiang mai. Our timing couldn’t be more perfect, she is done with her contract and will be traveling with us for the next 3 weeks. Lucky us! I couldn’t ask for a better travel buddy, I didn’t even have to think once she showed up. Starting with transportation. 3 people, 2 backpacks, 1 motor bike…. Done and fun. I couldn’t help but hoot and holler all the way to our guesthouse! YAHOO! I can’t explain how good it feels to be in hot weather again, I was made to live in hot climates. With the breeze in my hair, I was being sandwiched between Beckah and Jake on a motor bike feeling on top of the world! Walking around with her is the best, shes pretty popular and knows enough of the language and customs to make us look like we fit in. but I think my wide eyes and shocked look on my face give me away.

my adrenaline rush has turned into insomnia. In fact I haven’t slept since I got off the air plane. But currently I could care less. The city never sleeps, and neither do the drunken travelers wondering the streets and halls of the hostels. They are all my age 25-30 but I have no desire to join them in there shenanigans. That’s what college was for and boy did I get that out of my system. Seriously though I spent the last half hour listening to a girl stumble up the stairs and lay down in the hall crying. After finally trying to consult her I realize she is wasted and hopeless and at least she is safely in her hostel. She might be locked out of her room but at least she got it right! Yikes

I find my self wanting to eat everything and all the time. That’s kind of Jacobs MO so I'm on board as well. The perks of dating a chef is the mass amounts of knowledge I get daily, the downs are having to work-out extra hard daily. Street vendors line the curbs and alleys with everything from a bar in the bed of some ones truck to anything on a stick you could ever imagine. I went with Pad Thai, just to get it out of the way… and into my stomach.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0574s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb