Ubon Candle Parade


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-East Thailand » Ubon Ratchathani
August 18th 2012
Published: January 29th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Although I was suppose to go with my friend Apple the year before to her hometown in Ubon, I flaked out to spend time with friends.<span> This year around I decided to join her in on a trip to her families house as well as for the Candle Parade.



I didn’t know much about the Candle Parade, ok to be honest I didn’t even know I was going to the Candle Parade, all I knew was that I was going to her families house.<span> So bright and early (ok not that early because Apple hates waking up early) she came to pick me up and we headed into town.<span> Here we hopped on a song taew that took us to Yasaton and then hopped on a bus to take us to Ubon.



Once in Ubon we were greeted by Apple’s sister.<span> Now Apple is my best friend in my village, I love her, her husband and even her kid so when I met her sister I wasn’t surprised at all by how amazing she was as well.<span> We grabbed some lunch and then continued on for 45minutes before we made it to her house.<span> The big draw of Apples hometown, they have a Big C (kind of like a Price Club).



We relaxed for awhile here, and then that evening me, Apple and her sister (the kids staying behind) headed out to check out the Parade.<span> So the parade itself was going to be happening the following day but because it was going to be hot and filled with people we were going the evening before just to check out the sculptures.<span> And the sculptures were amazing, each being made out of candle wax with intricate designs of Garuda, Buddha, Apsaras and anything and everything else you could think of, they were amazing.



More importantly was the dinner that followed.<span> We headed to a barbeque place that was all you can eat.<span> Throwing my diet out the window, we ate and ate and ate and Apple being the friend she is, we drank and drank and drank before it was time to head back to her place.



The following day, when the actual parade was taking place we chose to watch it on T.V.<span> And when that got boring we threw on the Olympics.<span> And when that got boring we headed to the Pattaya of the Northeast, which is not a beach at all but rather a river much like all the other rivers I had visited in the past.<span> They tried to get me to go swimming but it just wasn’t happening, besides food was being served.



I ate fish and veggies and a variety of other things, but the most interesting this this day was the Gung Dten which means dancing shrimp.<span> Why is it called this you may ask?<span> Well because the shrimp are still alive and dancing around in their bowl.<span> Turns out that whatever they are seasoned with makes them quite delicious and I had no problem chowing down on live shrimp for the afternoon.<span>



We headed home the following day after what was one of the most relaxing fun Thaiknappings I have ever been a part of. Gotta love Apple, she can make anything a good time! <span> <span> <span>

Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0304s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb