Cricket Farming!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-East Thailand » Roi Et
January 17th 2013
Published: February 23rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

I've talked about eating them and going out to hunt them but this little section is about actually farming them. Of course I'm talking about crickets. I might take it up once back in America since I'm not sure how else I'm going to get my hands on these guys. I had a soccer game today but the highlight of the day wasn't that game but instead all the cricket searching I did before hand. My sister had informed me that we would be doing this and I have to say when she first told me I thought, great I get to be dragged around while I anxiously wait for my game to start.

We headed out, me dressed and ready for the game her buzzing on and on about her new truck. I clinged to my passenger seat as she jolted the poor vehicle with each change of gears. But eventually we came to farm number one. I could hear them long before I saw them. In concret "tubs" covered with mesh I looked in a found thousands of crickets hopping around. It was really quite impressive. But for some reason these ones were for sale, so we hopped back in the truck and jolted our way to the next cricket farm.

Here we were going to pick up 5 kilos of crickets. Yes, 5 kilos! These were my personal favorite, the small brown ones. Yum when these suckers are fried up sooo tasty that is all I can say! Now the crickets all hang out in egg crates so to get them out what you naturally have to do is bang two of them together and the little guys fall right on out. But when you want 5 kilos it takes some time, but eventually we got when we came for and headed on.

To the game you ask? No to another farm to pick up the less tasty big black crickets were we needed to grab another 4 kilos of these guys. A bit more pricey (although I can't figure out why since I find them less tasty).

When we finally fetched all of the crickets one could possibly want we headed over to the game. I have to say that it was quite interesting to see how they raised the crickets and can absolutely positively state that it is WAY easier to get crickets this way then to go out into the fields on a cricket hunting expedition!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.208s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0692s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb