South Thailand


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Eastern Thailand
January 10th 2009
Published: January 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Ko Phangan

We arrived at Ko Phangan at the beach resort hostel where our room has turned out to be the best room I think we have had so far. It is about 30 seconds from the beach and I do mean 30 seconds. We have arrived on Christmas eve very tired after a 28 hour trip just to here here but we all deiced to head down to the full moon party which is at Hat Rin Nai about 15 min taxi from where we are staying. For a full moon party there did not seem to be many people about but there was a lot going on, them seem to have a fetish here with fire, there was Limbo fire, Skipping rope fire and just normal throw fire about where everyone is welcome to have a go. I only tried the limbo for now as want to try the rest when I am a little drunk just in case the flames hit me at least if I am hammered I wont feel it hehe. Not a lot really happened on xmas ever as Ceri, Andy and I were all very tired but still have a few drinks on the beach before heading back to our Beach house 😊
Day 41 Christmas Day
Woke up on Christmas which such high hopes that I was disappointed with the out come of the day. Christmas turned out to be pretty much a boring Christmas just like any other Christmas Day. We have travelled gods know how many miles to have a warm sandy Christmas for it to be raining all day lol. The plan for today was to go and have a roast dinner before hitting the full moon party at night. With it raining all day non of us were really in the party mood and poor old Andy had a tummy upset as well, so Christmas was spent doing nothing and a early night.
Day 42 Boxing Day
RAIN AGAIN ...... what the f*** is going on here I thought being in Thailand it would be a sunny Christmas lol. The weather did get better in the afternoon so we all went for a bit of a swim in the sea before Ceri and I headed out down to the night life for a roast dinner and a few drinks. Andy was still ill from something dodgy he had eaten from a few days ago so he had to stay back at the beach house. Ceri and I had our roast dinner at the outback bar roast dinners are well missed, really do miss my English food, I think I have been living on Pizza and Burgers for gods know how long now lol.
The last couple of day in Ko Phangan have been quiet disappointing as we did not seem to meet any nice people. Everyone that was staying at our beach resort seemed to keep them self's to them self's even if you tried to make conversation and with the rain we really did not get up to much.

Days 43 to 45 Ko Samui
To day we went to Ko Samui hoping the weather is a lot better as the rain had spoiled Ko Phangan which I think would be amazing if it had stayed dry. When we arrived at our beach resort it was much like the resort in Ko Phangan but this time with English speaking Germans as owners which makes things a lot easier. We were only 1 min walk from the beach and for the first time they has a swimming pool that you might take more than one stroke to swim the length of it 😊 Just like all the days we arrive at a Island the first day we did not get up to much. The second day and night we spent on the beach just chilling out and then hit the night life in Chaweng where we met up with a guy called Liam who Ceri and I met in South Africa (small world).
Had a really good night out with Liam, Ceri and Andy drinking. Night life here is a bit like you would find in Magaluf or somewhere like that with an electronic bull (that you have to stay on for 60 seconds most people last 3) and some silly ladder thing that you have to climb to the top of but it spins as you do it. If you do any of them you win 20 quid but it's impossible. I had to give it a try the ladder I fell off straight away 3 times, the ball lasted 17 seconds which is quiet good as most people last 3, but a very good night out drinking made up for Christmas.
The next day was spent nursing my hangover and I hired a moped to give it a go around the island, was not to bad a bit scary with the mad motorist of Thailand but was fun. Ceri and Andy also hired one out but when I was posting pressys back to the UK they both fell off they were both ok so I had to laugh 😊

Days 46 to 48 Phuket.
On the 30th we all arrived at Phuket which has more tourist than I have had Pizza and Burgers since my world travel started and that's a lot but I like it here maybe it was due to the fact we all had a great new year. When you walk down Phuket high street every other step you will be hassled by someone asking you if you want a taxi, Suit, Tuk tuk, or a massage which can be really annoying. Anyway back to new year. Ceri Andy and I spent the start of the night getting ready and drunk in our room. Once we hit town around 10:30 we walked down to the beach where everyone was letting off flying lanterns. Once new year was here there were like 1000 lanterns in the sky with loads of fireworks going off in the air. Thailand people don't really seem to care about safety as people were letting off massive bangers in the middle of crowds of people and the fire works were hitting the floating lanterns. One fire work even fell from the sky and hit Ceri on the arm and gave her a burn. After the beach we headed to a club called Hollywood which was so jam packed it took 10 Min's just to get to the Toilet let alone the bar so we quickly left and went to a more quiet club called Rock City or band something like that. I was very drunk at this point so cannot remember the names of places. The night was a blast and it made up for Christmas being so boring 😊

Days 49 and 50 Phi Phi Island
To day we arrived at Phi Phi island which just like Phuket has to many tourist which I think spoils it a bit. We were only hear for 2 days one of which was spent at my hotel on a sun bed by the pool while Ceri and Andy went diving, I was not ready to dive yet have only just learnt to swim so was not going to jump in head first to diving. Wish we had a little more time in Phi Phi as we did not get to see all the beaches, and the weather on the first day of arrival was pretty bad raining again.

Days 51 to 54 Ko Lanta
We arrived at Koh Lanta thinking it was an Island when we got there we found out it is part of the main land to Thailand lol. The place we are staying Lanta Lodge is kind of like Ko Phangan and Ko Samui but not as good first impressions are sometimes important and when they tried over charging us for our lunch to keep the money for them self's ....well not really a good first impression on the place. Anyway I have used Ko Lanta as a place to relax for the last 4 days and have really enjoyed doing sod all. I have just been chilling in the sea and walking along the beach and spent more time in the place next door called moon lodge where I have tried to learn the fire dance skill. I can do a few tricks nothing special yet just need someone to show me more tricks. Moon lodge did some really nice food as well so nice we had dinner there 4 nights in a row.

Days 55 to 58 Krabi Ao Nang Beach
I think they have saved the best place to last we are staying at a place called mild bungalows where I rate this the best place for accommodation so far. The air-con is not loud and works, we have a bed each and a nice bed at that, swimming pool, ok the food is not the best but they do have nice places just 5 mins down the road and the staff speak good English. Our first day here we went on a boat trip to 4 islands the islands we visited were Poda, Chicken, Phranang and the last I forgot the name but all of them were stunning. I did a bit of snorkeling today as well which I enjoyed but I still do not feel 100% safe out of my depth in water but slowly getting used to it. The Second day at Krabi I did pretty much sod all, I think I have gotten a little home sick as I am not looking forward to China as much as I should be but I am sure once I am there things will be much better.

My final views
My final views on Thailand are quiet good I love the fact I feel so safe hear I don't feel this safe in the UK. I love the beaches, I loved Phuket at new year eve, I love that you get stopped in the street by the Thailand massage girl, hay I don't get much attention in the UK so any is welcome lol, I even can go as far as saying I like the food, ok most of the food I have eaten is Western but still I like it. The biggest thing about Thailand I don't like is most people try and con you get you to pay over the price for everything sometimes you get caught out some times you don't, but this also brings in haggling which I like. The island hear are pretty much all the same and Phuket is like Tenerife but with massage/suits/tuk tuks every 5 steps away. Despite all my hates in Thailand and I have lot listed them all Thailand would not be Thailand without them and that what makes me enjoy the place. If you have ever wanted to come to Thailand please come just skip out Bangkok as it is the s*** hole of a place. Ko Phangan and Samui are very lovely islands and I cannot split them, there were my favorite place as well as Phuket and Ko Lanta. I think Phi Phi is not so great unless you are a diver the islands beaches are just as good it's a little over hyped. Ok I am rambled on far to long now and I doubt anyone will read all of this as I have jumped around more than Skippy. Next stop in Hong Kong and then China will update blog when I can for now laters xxxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



10th January 2009

Don't go to China you nobhead
Why don't you just go to Australia - you've at least got half a chance of a shag there - Remember chinese ladies tuppence go left to right not front to back - LOL

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0725s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb