Bangkok national museum


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand
October 6th 2012
Published: October 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

First thing in the morning I had a smooth visit to the post office. This will be my last post back to the UK. The national museum is in parts dilapidated and old fashioned, but with patience there are many treasures to be found. It is not a big tourist attraction. I didn't see any large groups.It also has a good and cheap cafe for lunch. I knew very little about the history of Thailand and the first gallery in the museum was very helpful to give the context for the art. I was particularly interested in Ayatthuya because I will be going there soon. There were lots of important battles between Ayatthuya and Mayanmar, many fought on elephant back. The exhibits in the museum were quite difficult to photograph because of the poor lighting and display. I have chosen for the blog a beautiful Sakothai Buddha and a Jarva Ganesh. In the evening I met the group for the week's trip up to Chaing Mai and we had supper not far from Khaosan road.


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement



Tot: 0.292s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0905s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb