All grown up but still a big kid at heart!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand
October 29th 2008
Published: October 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The beginning of the flooded road.The beginning of the flooded road.The beginning of the flooded road.

This is the road that leads from town to our house. It's a dual carriage way and was completely submerged.
OK, so once again, I'm starting a blog entry apologising for how long it's been since I last wrote anything. No excuses, just life flying by scarily quickly!

We only have two school terms here, and the first one is already finished. I can't believe it, that means I'm half way through my year already. In many ways it only feels like five minutes since I started, but then again, when I think how much I've learnt and acheived since I arrived, I guess it feels like I've been here quite a while.

The last few weeks of term saw me begin to to really feel like a teacher. Before that I'd felt like someone who taught children each day, but, it wasn't until it came to report writing and meeting the parents that it actually hit me, I really am a teacher in the eyes of those around me. Pretty scary stuff!

The bit that is hardest for me to get my head around, is that, not only am I a teacher, I am loving being one! Sure, living in Thailand helps, but this isn't just about living where the sunshines anymore. It's actually about maybe having
'Monkey Temple''Monkey Temple''Monkey Temple'

This is one of the main hangouts for the monkeys in town.
found a career path, we'll see!

All said and done though, no matter how much i'm loving it, after 17 weeks straight teaching. The week holiday we had was much needed and appriciated. Check out the pictures of the trip we had to DreamWorld, a theme park just outside Bangkok. It's no Disnyland, but it was a really fun day.

A less fun day was the nine temple tour we were subjected to one Sunday a few weeks ago. And before you ask, no, there was NO getting out of it! We were invited on it by the school prinicpal, so let's just say it was well in our best interests to accept. And, even though the 6am start and endless trekiing around temples wasn't our idea of fun, it did mean we got to see the teachers let their hair down which was quite interesting! And, got to see some of the surrounding countryside too.

ALso added a few monkey pictures. Still hate them! Mai chorp ling! (I don't like monkeys in Thai). Yes, I am still battling slowly on with the language learning quest, but, it's so not easy!

Last week was actually my favourite week since I joined Fun Language. We had a holiday programme for 39 of our older students. And, as much as the report writing and open house session make me feel grown up. Leading a team at camp shows me I really am still a big kid at heart!!!!!! I will post some pics and details in another private blog. But it was a complete ball!!

This is the final week of the school holidays, so we are getting all ready for the start of next term on Monday. And now, when I say we, I don't mean the royal we, I am no longer alone, WHOOOOOP!!!!

Amanda arrived a couple of weeks ago, from manchester, and we have a couple more teachers starting on Monday. Never thought I'd say it, but finally the Lopburi office is fully staffed, YAYAYAYAY!!!!!

OK, well this is a waffly, but I just wanted to post some pics for you all.

Tons of love

xxxxxx




Additional photos below
Photos: 41, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Bewware - Monkeys crossingBewware - Monkeys crossing
Bewware - Monkeys crossing

Taken from the safety of the mini van bringing us home from Bangkok.
At school.At school.
At school.

My TT Kung with one of my P2 students. Please excuse my messy board, I cannot write nicely in chalk to save my life!
Floods againFloods again
Floods again

You can spot the children swimming in the ditch infront of the bus stop.
FloodsFloods
Floods

Flooded shops
More floodingMore flooding
More flooding

Just a couple of 100 metres down the road from our house.
Teachers on tourTeachers on tour
Teachers on tour

The school bus we went on our trip in
Temple oneTemple one
Temple one

I was going to photo them all, but, well, I didn't!!
Temple TwoTemple Two
Temple Two

Which had a display of traditional Thai puppets for lshadow shows made from Ox hide.
Extreme MeditationExtreme Meditation
Extreme Meditation

Was so tempted to go and give him a push!
Temple ThreeTemple Three
Temple Three

Hmmm maybe??! I've lost count already!
Garden statuesGarden statues
Garden statues

Maybe number 7??!
Another templeAnother temple
Another temple

I have no idea which number!
Big BuddhaBig Buddha
Big Buddha

On the opposite side of the road from the temple, and our tight schedule didn't allow time to cross and see it. Fine by us, we all know what he looks like anyway!
Little MonkeyLittle Monkey
Little Monkey

Outside our fav 10baht noodle shop
Eating Vow's KanomEating Vow's Kanom
Eating Vow's Kanom

Right infront of us too, how rude!
Drinking MonkeyDrinking Monkey
Drinking Monkey

As his friend sits on the phone wires above with a bag of pop, he catches the condensation below.


Tot: 0.209s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb