Monkeys and My Little Monkeys


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Lopburi
November 30th 2008
Published: November 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I'm going to start this blog by putting a theory out there, do you think that I'm jinxed? I mean right now, I think that news across the globe is dominated with two things, the first being the terrorism in Mumbai and the second being the mess in Bangkok. I'm thinking that when I decide to move on I need to send advance warning to my new country of choice so they can bolster their secruity before I arrive!

Anyway, thought I'd do a blog, to say that all is well in Lopburi, no signs at all of any of the trouble in Bangkok here, and, it would take A LOT to wake up my sleepy little town, believe me! I wouldn't normally be concerned about the going ons down there, but, it's 19 days and counting until Mum and Dad are due to arrive to spend Christmas and New Year out here, so someone better do something quickish to put an end to all this silliness, and get flights and things back on track so our plans aren't affected.

My life is flashing before my eyes at its usual lightning pace. Tomorrow sees the start of the fifth week of term already, and it only seems two minutes since it was the holidays. Term two definately seems to be more action packed than the first. A couple of Fridays ago, kindergarten 2 and 3 had their sports day. And boy, it couldn't have been any further removed from primary sports days I remember when I was at school. This spectacle was literally months in the organising, the rehearsing and planning. When I thought of sports day pre Fun Language, I thought of four teams, a teddy as a mascot, a few races and the odd mum watching over the school gate. Now, my perceptation has altered somewhat. I think marching bands, cheerleaders, costumes, chinese dragons, apache Indians, dancers, music, medals, trophies, podiums, PA systems, commentators, parents galore, opening ceremonies. Infact, I'm thinking if Thailand were ever to host the Olympic games, they should drop a line to my school for tips on how best to run the event. This really was a big deal, a MASSIVE deal, and pretty cool to watch. I'll add a few pictures, but they really don't do the event justice.

So, with sports day over, we hoped things would return to normality and the children would be slightly less wired all the time! But, alas, no. last week was a special event week. It seems the school has entered into some school of the year competition, and in January there will be a huge week of judging and stuff. This is clear a big, big deal, as last week was a full scale practice run. Thi meant that apart form their lessons with us, the students didn't have any normal lessons all week. Instead each subject set up booths and activities in the grounds for the students to take part in. Our booth was run by Bob and Vow while the rest of us were teaching. But, it wasn't just about the booth, for weeks leading up to the event, we've been practicing English Karaoke songs with a group of students, who then twice each day performed on stage, along with a couple of speeches in English and a short play.

Even though the week has come to an end, the rehersals are FAR from over. Now it's onto practicing from the Christamas show, which better be fabulous, because Mum and Dad will be here to watch! Pretty excited about it
MollyMollyMolly

The little scruff bag who's adopted us, and set up home in our apartment carpark.
actually!

Onto things other than work, today has been the annual monkey festival in town. And, as you can see from the pictures, I was brave, I went, and I survived, yay!!! We left before the main food fight, but saw plenty!

Also added some pictures of Belle's birthday from a couple of weeks ago.

I'll blog again soon, as we are off to Chaing Mai for a long weekend on Wednesday, so should have more tales to share! And then it'll be Christmas holidays to tell you about, what on Earth happened to 2008 people?

Love you all tons


xxxxxx




Additional photos below
Photos: 56, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

The red teamThe red team
The red team

Kids' Chinese were the first to complete their dance as part of the opening ceremony.
The Blue TeamThe Blue Team
The Blue Team

The second team to dance were the Blue Smiles of Thailand.
Flag BoyFlag Boy
Flag Boy

The poor lad had to keep this waving for the whole event.
Chinese DragonChinese Dragon
Chinese Dragon

The basket ball court is transformed.
Apache IndiansApache Indians
Apache Indians

The pink teams dancers, from the small Kindergarten school I teach at on Tuesdays.
BelleBelle
Belle

Showing her support for red, blue and pink in this uber stylish hat!
Showing my supportShowing my support
Showing my support

The hat for the pinks, and my flags for blue and red. It's hard working keeping all these kids happy!
Looking Good!Looking Good!
Looking Good!

Sadly this outfit didn't get any further than the office!
Chinese DragonChinese Dragon
Chinese Dragon

Apparently it'll bring luck upon the school.
My StudentsMy Students
My Students

Two of my girls pose for the camera
Clowning aroundClowning around
Clowning around

One of my favourite boys :)


Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0599s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb