Mangos


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
April 7th 2014
Published: April 9th 2014
Edit Blog Post

It's mango season here in Thailand, and what a wonderful season it is. I've never had sweeter mangos in my life. Everywhere you go there are mangos for sale. I'm lucky enough to have a pick-up truck selling them just down the road from my apartment.

I stopped at it one night on my way home from dinner. I inquired about the price and it's 100 Baht for 1 kilo. ($1.50 USD for one pound.) My Thai coworkers have assured me this is indeed a fair price. I decided to buy two mangos. The woman weighed them on a little scale, effortlessly cut them up, and put them on a tray and covered it in plastic wrap. She also offered to sell me some sticky rice and coconut milk, so I could enjoy the traditional dish (mango sticky rice) at home. I decided to just stick with the mangos.

When I got home, I dug in, slowly cutting off a piece with my fork. I put it in my mouth, rolling it around a bit, savoring it. I didn't know a mango could taste this good. It's almost like heaven simultaneously exploding and melting in your mouth.

I've
My mangosMy mangosMy mangos

I've never had mangos so good.
been back a few more times this week, always buying two. One is for dessert, and one for my next day's breakfast. I know mango season won't last forever, but I'm enjoying it to the fullest while I can. And I'm already looking forward to next year.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Mango sticky riceMango sticky rice
Mango sticky rice

Mangos, sticky rice, and coconut milk. Heaven.


9th April 2014

I'm so jealous...
I have mangos and sticky rice here, but the mangos are never as good as the Thai ones.

Tot: 0.385s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 79; dbt: 0.2979s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb