Bangkok (Jan-Mar 14)


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
March 3rd 2014
Published: March 3rd 2014
Edit Blog Post

"The Whistle Group""The Whistle Group""The Whistle Group"

Loosely translated from Thai, the group symbolized by the whistles they constantly blew, in protest against the supposed corruption, nepotism, incompetence, disrespect towards the monarch, and all other things bad you can imagine, that they claim to be endemic in the incumbent government.
Yes I know it's been some three months since I left you hanging, back in my Southern China escapade. Well, it does seem like an eternity has passed, but since then I'd returned back home to Singapore for about a month, then headed back up again to my de facto second home in Bangkok once more. I've been here since the start of the year, for another two-month's worth of Thai classes, my fourth stint here since I started on my now almost-two year adventure. The past few months in Bangkok have of course been eventful, thanks to the protests (so what's new?) which saw several major intersections closed and blocked for several months. Notwithstanding the almost daily sniper and grenade attacks at the protest sites during a few particularly tense periods, which resulted in several dozen deaths and many more injuries in total, the danger was probably somewhat exaggerated by the foreign media. For the denizens of Bangkok, apart from some traffic inconveniences, and early shopping mall closures, it was pretty much business as usual, as long as one kept his wits, and a safe distance from the danger areas as far as possible.

And so, as comfortable as
Gnidart Gnaihc Nan?Gnidart Gnaihc Nan?Gnidart Gnaihc Nan?

I couldn't help but be thoroughly tickled by this. No, there was no need for any use of mirrors in this trick. This Chinese tour bus thinks that because the Chinese language is traditionally written from right to left, the same applies to other languages too.
I've grown living here in the City of Angels, or Venice of the East, whichever romanticized moniker you wish to bestow on this royal capital, I constantly remind myself of the larger plan I have, which of course entails trying to cover some of the other major areas in Southeast Asia that I still haven't seen. To that end, as my fourth stint here comes to an end, I prepare once again to hit the road, returning to the sporadically nomadic life that I've now almost become fully-accustomed to. This time though, as the clock on my adventure ticks rapidly towards the two year mark (I'd started in May 2012 after all), I can't help but start to think also that perhaps I might now be closer to the end than the beginning. But as much time as I could spend reminiscing the details of my travels so far, I think I shall save that for another time. For now, the journey continues, and you'll be seeing more of me once again soon, as I re-commence more regular updates of this blog for the next (and final...?) leg of my adventure.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Look closerLook closer
Look closer

They're all Dudes! Not! Haha just kidding. Really. I guess you can never be too sure here in BKK.
Best Cheap Coffee with Fresh Milk in BKKBest Cheap Coffee with Fresh Milk in BKK
Best Cheap Coffee with Fresh Milk in BKK

Right in front of the language school I attend. THB25, with ice.
Thonglor Fruit Cat still alive and kickingThonglor Fruit Cat still alive and kicking
Thonglor Fruit Cat still alive and kicking

Notwithstanding its obvious obesity issues. No, mango and durian diet is NOT a diet!
Thai Street Fried FishcakesThai Street Fried Fishcakes
Thai Street Fried Fishcakes

Ok Yk, they're Thai after all.
I wish I had a better cameraI wish I had a better camera
I wish I had a better camera

There's a cat somewhere there playing with a mouse, here in this dingy alley. It was Soi Nana, after all.
Thonglor Cat CafeThonglor Cat Cafe
Thonglor Cat Cafe

Cool new discovery! And apparently there are several of these scattered around the city. And I heard there's one opening back home in Singapore too. Is this the new bubble tea?
Yea I cut my hairYea I cut my hair
Yea I cut my hair

It was Chinese New Year and I paid a visit to my grandma in Penang. There's only so much shock she can withstand at here advanced age, and I didn't want to compromise my chances with the red packets either. After all, which conservative, traditional Chinese uncle/ auntie gives a generous ang pao to a long-haired, hobo nephew?
Thonglor Pet BarberThonglor Pet Barber
Thonglor Pet Barber

Always an amusing sight each time I walk past.


4th March 2014
"The Whistle Group"

Luvuu
Really nice Thailand Holiday Destination
5th March 2014
"The Whistle Group"

Thanks, glad you like the blogs and photos. There'll be more to come! Happy travels!

Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0226s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb