Weird And Wonderful


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
August 6th 2006
Published: August 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I had another day in Bangkok and decided to get out and see a few of the sights I'd missed back in July. I spent the morning in China Town where I explored the narrow market alleyways. It was very crowded and the sights and smells were overwhelming. I discovered a few new foods I never knew existed and had no desire to taste, which I'm sure the photos will explain. In the afternoon I did more temple sightseeing and spent hours walking around and taking in the city. By the end of the day I could not bear the thought of another temple or Buddha and so left the reclining Buddha for another time.


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

China TownChina Town
China Town

The streets are lined with shops selling gold jewelry
Fish StomachsFish Stomachs
Fish Stomachs

These vary in size depending on the size of the fish and are apparently used in soup
Sea CucumbersSea Cucumbers
Sea Cucumbers

I had to ask what these were and braced myself for the response.
Sea Cucumbers on IceSea Cucumbers on Ice
Sea Cucumbers on Ice

Needless to say, it got even worse. Taking this photo nearly made me gag
??????
???

Not sure what this is but it has been steamed in the banana leaves. Looked a bit like worms to me.
Row of BellsRow of Bells
Row of Bells

At the Golden Mount (Phukhao Thong), Wat Saket
More BellsMore Bells
More Bells

These bells were everywhere and devotees rang each large bell - they have rows of 10 or so. There was a lot of bell ringing at this temple and I'm not too sure of its significance.
The Giant SwingThe Giant Swing
The Giant Swing

My taxi driver took me to the wrong temple so I got to see even more temples!! So I decided to walk from Wat Saket to the Temple of Dawn which is a fair distance. Came across this 'giant swing' along the way, I've been told they put a swing onto the frame during certain festivals.
PidgeonsPidgeons
Pidgeons

These guys were hanging out under the giant swing
Monk Gift BasketsMonk Gift Baskets
Monk Gift Baskets

Complete with orange umbrellas, orange drink, orange fabric etc.
Temple of DawnTemple of Dawn
Temple of Dawn

aka Wat Arun


15th August 2006

ugh
these look worse from LA than they did in Thailand, gorgeous photos though, just the subject
16th August 2006

Oh Joy!
Joy,Joy, Joy.......Of course they're sea cucumbers. If you weren't a nurse I'd be questioning your inocence. We're loving the photos, you really have a bit of a talent. John is getting particularly jealous of your travels. Good to see you're having a great time. xo John, Kelly and Noah.

Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.024s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb