Richards back, yes back again....ddoo do dooo dooo...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
February 5th 2013
Published: March 23rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Wahoo the day has arrived, I'm just hoping this mornings journey is less painful than yesterdays. One tuk tuk ride and I'm at the Bangkok Centre hotel, slightly more up in the world as this place has a pool and is walking distance from the train station.

All is looking good. The room is lovely, we have our own dressing gowns and slippers, I must admit I didn't do a lot today, stayed in forma movie day and a pampering session.

Can you believe in this day and age and in such an upmarket hotel they want to charge you for WiFi! Scandalous! Id managed to send an email arranging a meeting point and then a later email with the hotel address just in case.

By 10.45pm its time to head over to the train station and meet my darling from his 2 days of travelling (5 flights in total). By 11pm I was getting kicked out of the train station as it was shutting! Great! Outside of the train station it serves as a place to sleep for the homeless so I'm stood at the top of the MRT entrance watching everyone (when i say everyone i mean full family's with young babies, elderly people and disabled people, makes you appreciate what you have at home and even though we have homeless at home we have things in place for people, homes for the elderly, shelters for the homeless and homing for the family's) settle down for the night, felt like I was intruding slightly.

By 12.20 there was still no sign of Richard, getting slightly worried I head back, (this is where problems start when only one of you has a phone) biting the bullet and paying for the internet, no emails, ringing the airport to make sure the flight had landed on time, yes no problem there, Thai airlines were not answering there phones so I couldn't check to see he was on the flight.

Heading back to the train station (I lost track of how many times I did this journey tonight) by 2.30am still no sign and me obviously a nervous wreck by now so the only thing I can think to do is head to the airport and try and talk to the airline face to face to see if he was on the flight.

The fun part came when I got in a taxi, the driver was obviously in a hurry and stopped along the way to buy a bottle of whiskey ..... Which he then proceeded to drink whilst driving along the motor way! Ahhh!

Arriving safely at the airport I head to the Thai desk only to find it shut and not opening until 5am! By this point Im emotionally exhausted and dont know what to do for the best, I check my emails on the internet stands they have their and find an email from Richard, he had arrived and and got to the train station at 12.30!! Seeing me not there he had headed off to find a hotel for the night as he was totally drained from his journey.

Least he's safe and in Bangkok.

I jump back in a sober taxi and head for the hotel. As I walk I. The lobby the porter points over to the computer and there is sat a very tired looking Richard, he'd rung the hotel and they told him I'd gone to the airport so he'd come to the hotel and got the room key id left just in case for him.

What an evening of close misses but finally we flopped into each others arms at 4am! Buzzing with stories we spent the next couple of hours retelling our journeys over the last few weeks, by 6am breakfast was being served downstairs so we headed to make the most of it before some much needed sleep.....

I'm up and out looking for food by 12, but jet lag has hit Richard severely and he rises nearer 5pm. We head of for a walk to the river to catch the boat to Koa San road for some food..... No scorpions this time though ; )

Advertisement



Tot: 0.186s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 7; qc: 40; dbt: 0.1138s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb