Stuck in Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
February 16th 2013
Published: February 16th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I would like to say that I am spending my last night in Bangkok tonight, but unfortunately that isn't the case. Due to a night of Chang and buckets, I slept in til 4pm on Friday and completely missed any chance I had of getting my Vietnamese visa sorted. As the embassy is closed over the weekend, Monday is the first day I can get the visa. Because of this I've had to extend my stay in Bangkok by two nights. I was originally planning to take a train to Ayutthaya but I am now going to do this as a day trip from Bangkok tomorrow, as I'll need to get to the Vietnamese embassy early on Monday morning.

So Friday was a complete write off in terms of seeing anything in Bangkok, but I took it easy on Friday night and got up reasonably early today so I could go out and see some of the city. I first enquired with the hostel about how to get to the royal palace, and was told it was a short walk away. This would usually be fine but it's about 35 degrees here and after a 15 minute walk from the
Mr KittiMr KittiMr Kitti

Potentially the best taxi driver name ever.
hostel I was really feeling the heat. Won't be doing that again, tuk tuk next time. The palace was absolutely packed and the heat was relentless so I only managed about 45 minutes there before I retreated back to the hostel to cool off in the pool. I think I am probably the whitest person in Thailand right now. Usually at home I couldn't care less about having a tan but I definitely look out of place here. I even had some scam artist approach me on the way to the palace, who knew that I'd just got to Thailand because of the colour of my skin. I politely told him where to go.

Spent the rest of the afternoon looking around the MBK centre, the big shopping mall in the city centre. Am now back in the hostel sitting in the roof bar having a Chang. Will go out and catch some of the football later, but need to take it easy again as my trip to Ayutthaya leaves at 7am.

There's nothing wrong with Bangkok really, but I have found it too hot to just wander around like I would if I was visiting some European city. I was much happier sitting by the pool sipping on a beer, so I'd like to be down in the islands doing just that asap. Am going to book a flight tonight, thinking of getting a flight/boat ticket with Air Asia. Maybe to Koh Tao, and then on to Koh Samui or Koh Phangan a few days later. After that I'm thinking Koh Phi Phi followed by a night in Phuket before flying from there to Chiang Mai. I'll spend around 5 days there before coming back to Bangkok for one more night and then flying to Hanoi. That's the initial plan anyway, it may well change.

Advertisement



16th February 2013

Mr. Kitti...
LOL how apt for Rhysy!

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb