Long Way To Japan - Part 1


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
November 8th 2012
Published: November 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

After having such a great few days in Melbourne before leaving made, me feel a little sad about leaving the country again but, I soon put my mind to the good times I have ahead. Flight from Melbourne to Singapore was good, sitting next to a Chinese Canadian that was in his 40s and had the love for travelling as well. He was of his way to Kathmandu to climb Everest base camp with some old mates from Germany, sounded like a great adventure that sometime I will do as well. He had been all over the world and mentioning Columbia and Chile were pretty much his favourite countries, something I have added to the bucket list.



Making it to Singapore and my connecting flight to Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia I found my hostel and checked in around 1am I believe it was. First thing I did was made contact with my Japanese friend Hitomi that I had met earlier in the year on a flight from Osaka to Kuala Lumpur. She is staying in Kuala Lumpur for an English course and is doing amazingly well. Hitomi and I met up and soon after met another 2 of her
KL CurryKL CurryKL Curry

Curry everywhere in KL
friends. By this time is was pretty late and only managed to have one drink and then the mission to find food began as I had spent the whole day travelling and not eating much. Hal a Malaysian and one of Hitomi's friend took us to a place with street food where there was one group of guys left eat, singing and playing guitar, this was really cool and I will never listen to the song Bob Marley's - Everything's gonna to be alright, again for the rest of my life. Great start!!



Not staying long in Kuala Lumpur Hitomi joined me on my trip to Bangkok, Thailand. I remember the flight I fell asleep straight away as I do normally on plane flights and Hitomi could sleep at all which I heard all about when we landed. In Bangkok I went to the ATM and got some Baht out, but silly me not checking the currency conversion first I just click 20,000baht which is about $600Aud.. Rookie mistake. Taxi into Bangkok we manage to find our hotel Grand Inn Hotel and really surprised how nice it was, ticking all the boxes.



Next day
Tuk TukTuk TukTuk Tuk

Hitomi's first Tuk Tuk ride in Bangkok Thailand
we met with Hitomi's Thai friend Nini that she met in China when she was learning Chinese. Yep Hitomi is one smart girl, very jealous of people that can speak multiple languages. Nini was great and took as around Bangkok's sights, river cruise, emerald Buddha and everything in between. Next few days we walked around Bangkok's shopping districts which is one of the most popular things to do, considering everything is so cheap here. The departments stores are huge and have floors completely dedicated to watches or perfumes etc. Crazy.



On Hitomi's second last day Nini suggested we go to Koh Same. This is an island and suppose to be a national park. This is when Thailand started to become difficult. Getting to the bus depot we need to be at I asked 4 Thais which bus we needed to get on for this place, showing the name on my phone. We were told no more today and to take a taxi. Then the taxi took us to Kosan rd, not really the island we were after and after calling Nini and getting her to talk to the taxi man we were taken back to the same
FishingFishingFishing

Thai girl fishing in Koh Same
depot and suddenly now the bus we needed was there. This and the fact I was starting to get sick feel very average, pretty sure from dinner the night before made this an unpleasant experience. When we go to the island I couldn't even go out I was feeling so sick. Hitomi went out and said there were parties everywhere, kicking fire balls around with music playing.



Next day the beach was nice but not what I call clean, especially for a national park.. So taking a few photos and relaxing a bit, we headed back to Bangkok where we had an amazing dinner with plenty to eat for cheap at night market near where we were staying. The squid was oshii!!!!



Next day Hitomi flew back to Kuala Lumpur and I stayed one more day in Bangkok. Ended up going out that night in Kosan rd and had a great time meeting some very cool travellers from England, Scotland and New Zealand.



Back to Kuala Lumpur I went at that weekend was MotoGP at Sepang Race Circuit. What a great weekend with great viewing from the grandstands and the expo area was good fun, beautiful promo girls everywhere and Kawasaki had a huge stand, way it should be. Race day managed to sneak into the main grandstand with a couple of more random travellers, Adam from Canada, Liz and Jade from England. Great day even tho the rain came and ended the races early.



With MotoGP weekend over and Hitomi too busy to catch up there was nothing in Kuala Lumpur for me so I was off to Penang and Lungkawi. Penpang was nice but nothing special really. Langkawi on the other hand was a great surprise with the beach being amazingly clean and some great people to meet. I checked into Rainbow Lodge which was a little pricey for what you got but the girl running the place Leo was a barrel of laughs and always full of energy. I'll never forget the first thing she said to me “Are you single” I replied “Yes” which she immediately pointed out the 3 German girls sitting at the computers introducing me straight away saying they were also single and horny... HAHA. This was before I even got an answer if there was a free bed. Over the next few days was great, having beers on the beach at a bar called Babylon with fire twirlers and some great laughs. One special days I remember, I had been on the scooter all day riding around the island and seeing the views and meeting some others that were also staying at my hostel. Half way through the day the rain came, and it was had flooded the streets making us having to pull over to find some shelter. Where we stopped there were some kids doing wheelies on their bikes and have water fights. The smiles they had were incredible, so happy with something so simple as a bit of rain. When finally getting back to Rainbow, Leo had organised a BBQ on the beach. This was a great night once we got the coals going, they took for ever to start. There was about 20 in the group at the start of the BBQ and when everyone had finished eating I think there was 10 of us left, drinking beer the whole time as well of course. Before you knew it everyone was in the water and the girls were on the boys shoulders having wrestling matches everywhere, so much fun.



With a mission to make Koh Samui, Thailand for Full Moon party on the 30th October I had to leave Langkawi. So began the close to 24 hour ferry, bus, bus and ferry trip to get there. This wasn't too bad but something I rather not do again in my life time. Koh Samui was nice, not as clean as Langkawi but had deferentially more people and more developed. I met up with Saya a Taiwanese girl I met the first time I was in Kuala Lumpur. She was working at a 5 star resort with it's own private beach. This place was amazing!!! Villa's starting at 30,000baht a night, that's $1000AUD, crazy. That night I also met a local named Ot, on the road asking me where I was going and telling him I was looking for a place to watch the sunset, he took me to a beach with a great view. We were a little late but still managed to get a couple of nice photos, from there we got a couple of beers from the local 7/11 and sat on the beach with him and his wife just talking and drinking, really nice time.



Full Moon 30th October was here and just happened to make some new friends at my Lodge I was staying at. Marco from Portugal, Ben from Switzerland, Tanya from Russia and Cinthia from Brazil. Bit of a mixture but made for great times, even chilling on the beach before the party introducing the guys to jumping photos and watching some kids play in the water was fun. Party time had arrived, catching the ferry over to Koh Phargan where the Full Moon party was held we caught up with Liz and Jade who I met at MotoGP that just happened to have a room at a resort for pre drinks and painting time. The party itself was wild with thousands of people on the beach and about 6 different music stands and buckets of alcohol everywhere, Crazy. Didn't take long for the group to be spilt up but I manage to meet some cool people, a Malaysian couple who bought me a 700ml bottle of whiskey!! and Moon a girl from Hong Kong.



Full Moon Party over I was back in Koh Samui and moved hostels to I-Bed which was closer to the action. This turned out to be the worst move I could ever do. Only staying 2 nights and meeting English boy and girl, I really didn't do a great deal. Leaving Koh Samui and making my way to Bangkok again I checked my bag when I checked into the hostel and found out I had been robbed while staying at I-Bed. My leatherman, sunglasses, watch and cash, Japanese Yen, US dollar, Malaysian Riggit, Singapore dollar etc. Ended up being quite a bit as I was exchanging Baht for Yen with Hitomi when I was last in Bangkok as I was going to need Yen for when I was in Japan. About $800 worth of stuff and cash gone, quite upsetting. To top it off sending emails to I-Bed has been useless as they have offered zero help and just say to talk to the police, Thailand showing it's true colours again.

Bangkok for a couple of days I really didn't do much as Bangkok doesn't have much to do other than shop or rent a hooker. I pretty much spent all my time at one of the hooker bars called Striker with great pool tables everywhere and a winner stays on rule without having to pay. Now this was good fun especially when you beat the girls because most of them are guns at playing pool. I was pretty much of fire the whole time I was there.

Having to get out of Bangkok I caught a train to Chiang Mai in North Thailand, everyone I meet have told me good things of this place so I'm hoping it changes my view on Thailand a bit. Guess we just wait and see....


Additional photos below
Photos: 50, Displayed: 29


Advertisement

Thai FoodThai Food
Thai Food

Ask for Pork, get given Prawns
JumpJump
Jump

Hitomi's first ever Jumping photo
BangkokBangkok
Bangkok

Thai Praying
SepangSepang
Sepang

Great viewing
MotoGP CBRMotoGP CBR
MotoGP CBR

Not green but I'll still take it
MotoGPMotoGP
MotoGP

Stunt rider
MotoGPMotoGP
MotoGP

Alex and I


8th November 2012

sounds like you're having a wild time! love reading the blog (from the couch while feeding Tiffany - ah how times have changed)....

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0322s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb