Butterfly in Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
December 20th 2011
Published: December 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This is visit number 17 to Thailand from December 15 to January 27.

I started in Bangkok and since I have been called a butterfly 😊 I thought I had better go and see a park famous for it's butterflies.

The Butterfly Garden is part of the Queen Sirikit Park in Mochit. It is easily accessed by the BTS skytrain.

I have never been to this park before and I was very impressed although it is not the best time of the year to see flowers and gardens in full bloom.

The park is huge and I was one of very few visitors on that day. At least I kept a security guy busy blowing his whistle at me when I stood on the edge of the ponds to take a photo of the flowers.

I actually could not find the Butterfly Garden until I asked some high school kids to show me the way. They lent me one of their bycicles and we rode around the park until we found the Butterfly Garden and building area. Very nice Thai kids and helpful. I don't think I would have found the garden without their assistance.

Their were not many butterflies about but it is still a good place to visit.

I will need to return and see the rest of the park on another visit.

Click on the pics if you want a larger view of the 23 photos


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Queen Sirikit ParkQueen Sirikit Park
Queen Sirikit Park

A river of green
Queen Sirikit ParkQueen Sirikit Park
Queen Sirikit Park

Turn right at this sign and the path leads around to the right side to the Butterfly Garden Building - I walked past and spent an hour and a half walking to find the building - no problem as there is a lot to see


Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb