Thailand! (泰国) Day 4---Wat Phra Kaew, Wat Intharawihan, and Sri Maha Mariamman Hindu Temple.


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
April 16th 2011
Published: April 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Hindi Ceremony. 17 secs
2: Theravada Buddhist Chant. 20 secs
Wat Intharawihan.Wat Intharawihan.Wat Intharawihan.

The Buddha Himself.
It was really sad to leave Bangkok, but...at the same time, it was fulfilling--I brought back with me a whole new perspective on life. China and Thailand have given me so much to think about. And made me realize I have so much more to learn.

I've seen...a lot, just being in Bangkok for five days. From poverty, to affluence...violence, benevolence...inequality, equity. Hearing about sex-trafficking and the disparity between the rich and poor in school is so different from actually experiencing it all yourself. And it changes a person. Well, it definately changed me.

And it makes a person wonder...what can a person do? How can I change all this, for the better? Having the whole world on your shoulders...is too much of a burden to bear. I can't save everybody from corruption or warlords or dependency, but...I just want to be the best me. And if that means helping one person at a time, in the smallest ways, then...that's all I ask.

When I was little, I prayed for wisdom every day. I may have changed to a spiritualist, or a syncretist, but I don't think that takes away any deep thoughts I have now, whether they
The city of Bangkok.The city of Bangkok.The city of Bangkok.

The Buddha on the side of a road...
be from my prayers as a youth, or from my travels.

And I still aspire to find my innerwisdom. This trip has definately been an inspiration for me, to cultivate myself, and to cultivate others.

Anyway,
My last day in Bangkok was spent mostly in Wats. I love Wats. As I said earlier, religion or spirituality is the heart of any culture. So...I'm there!

Wat Phra Kaew is THE big kahuna. It's massive, detailed to the max, and unbelievably beautiful.

In fact, it is regarded as the most sacred Wat in Thailand, and is a potent religio-political symbol and the palladium of Thai society.

*The Emerald Buddha* of Wat Phra Kaew:
The main building is the central ubosoth, which houses the statue of Emerald Buddha. The legendary history of this Buddha image is traced to India, five centuries after the Lord Buddha attained Nirvana, until it was finally enshrined in Bangkok at the Wat Phra Kaew temple in 1782 during Rama I's reign (1782–1809). This marked the beginning and raise of the Chakri Dynasty of the present Kingdom of Thailand.

The Emerald Buddha, a dark green statue, is in a standing form, carved from
The city of Bangkok.The city of Bangkok.The city of Bangkok.

Me with this random kid that asked to take our picture, with *my* camera. What?
a single jade stone. Except for the Thai King, no other person is allowed to touch the statue. The King changes the cloak around the statue three times a year, corresponding to the summer, winter, and rainy seasons, an important ritual performed to usher good fortune to the country during each season.

While legend traces this statue to India, its rich historical records dates its finding in Cambodia in the 15th century, moved to Laos in the 16th century and then to Vientiane where it remained for 215 years, and finally to Thailand in the 18th century.

Considering its long history and Nagasena's (a Brahmin who became a Buddhist sage and lived about 150 BC) prophesy that the Emerald Buddha would bring "prosperity and pre-eminence to each country in which it resides", the Emerald Buddha is deeply revered and venerated in Thailand as the protector of the country.

Wat Intharawihan was one of my favorite Wats. One of the main features is a 32-metre high, 10-meter wide standing Buddha, referred to as Luang Pho To. It took over 60 years to complete the statue, and is decorated in glass mosaics and 24-carat gold. The topknot of the Buddha image contains a relic of Lord Buddha brought from Sri Lanka.

While there, I encountered different Buddhist practices that I've never seen before. I have videos of monks chanting in Pali (the sacred language of Theravada Buddhism), from behind hand-held ceremonial fans, called "talapattas."
To explain the history of the talapatta: palm leaves were commonly used as writing material in ancient India and were known as "tada patra."

I also accidently stumbled into one of Bangkok's few Hindi temples, while walking out from a night market. A ceremony was going on, which made it even more interesting.
Hindi architecture is so interesting. If you ever have a chance to visit a Hindi temple, do it. The temple walls are full of Hindi dieties, full of different colors, shapes and poses; each one is magnificant enough to be called a temple of its own.

My low-quality pictures definately don't do any justice!


Additional photos below
Photos: 47, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Wat Phra Kaew.Wat Phra Kaew.
Wat Phra Kaew.

A guardian of the Wat. Being it the most sacred Wat in Bangkok, there were many of these.
Wat Phra Kaew.Wat Phra Kaew.
Wat Phra Kaew.

Me in front of a Golden Mound. Many monks meditate on Golden Mound images.
Wat Phra Kaew.Wat Phra Kaew.
Wat Phra Kaew.

Me, finally in some shade!
Wat Phra Kaew.Wat Phra Kaew.
Wat Phra Kaew.

Offerings.
Wat Phra Kaew.Wat Phra Kaew.
Wat Phra Kaew.

Can you see all the hands?
Wat Phra Kaew.Wat Phra Kaew.
Wat Phra Kaew.

Me, really far away. Haha.
The city of Bangkok.The city of Bangkok.
The city of Bangkok.

A monk waiting at a bus stop.
Wat Phra Kaew.Wat Phra Kaew.
Wat Phra Kaew.

The murals, in 178 scenes, starting with the north gate of the temple illustrates the complete epic story of Ramayana sequentially, in a clockwise direction covering the entire compound wall.
Wat Phra Kaew.Wat Phra Kaew.
Wat Phra Kaew.

These paintings are refurbished regularly. They serve to emphasise human values of honesty, faith, and devotion.
Wat Phra Kaew.Wat Phra Kaew.
Wat Phra Kaew.

Guardians holding up the temple.
Wat Phra Kaew.Wat Phra Kaew.
Wat Phra Kaew.

Offerings.


18th April 2011

COOL PICS
hi Lindsay, real cool pics here, you are having some fun. hope all is going well. dad
1st December 2012

Well thank you!
Omg sorry I didn't know how to post respond comments until now :( but I know for this time!

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0233s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb