The Monk Who Said "Dropping a Bomb" and The Chef Who Said "Just Throw In A Little Bitch!"


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
February 23rd 2011
Published: February 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Pad ThaiPad ThaiPad Thai

Cooking class with Nusi
It is my last day in Bangkok for a while, because in a few hours I'm taking the big silver bird to the Southern Islands......oh beach, how I need you! I bought a black 50's vintage bathing suit, and I can't wait to sport it among the bronze-bikini-wearing-Aussies.

So, I went to Thai cooking school.....it was probably the best thing I've done thus far. I met a sweet Kiwi named Genevieve, and were able to sight-see together the next day. Nusi, the master, took us to the market and explained every variation of ginger, chili, garlic, and every other spice imaginable. We cooked 6 dishes. When I get home, I'll cook for anyone who will have me! I recorded several of his lectures and will post them when I get home because I can't describe how comical he is. One thing that is note worthy about Nusi is while cooking he often says, "OK.....everyone look here at thiiiissss little ginger......you not put a lot in......just put a little bitch!" We would roar with laughter and he would giggle.

Yesterday I wandered around the Indian district of town, near the Hindu temple. The air was warm with incense and lotus
Meditation GurusMeditation GurusMeditation Gurus

After a drink.....
flowers. I found myself in a cluster of people moving the same direction. Before I knew it, I was in front of a Hindu holy man who gave me a blessing then doted my forehead with red paint. It all happened so fast, and I feel that regardless of your religious affiliation, you should never turn your back on someone extending a blessing. That is a reasonable and sensible thing to do. However, I was at a loss when and where to take off the red paint on my forehead. So for several hours I had to meander around Bangkok red-dotted. I explained to the Lord my situation, and reassured him I was still a strong believer in Jesus. I washed it off when I got to the Buddest monastery.........they must have thought I was a big poser.

The Monks offer free meditation instruction to anyone who is interested. I told Genevieve about it, and she met me there. Us and an older Aussie man sat down in front of the monk and expressed our desire to learn about meditation. For the next 1 1/2 hours we were given a fascinating and colorful lecture. A high-level overview:

"You think too much......you make things too dramatic......your mind run and run and run all day and you never know what you are doing. You sit and wait in line or in your free time, and you think of things that you like and things you don't like, and one thought leads to another and before you know it your own mind is keeping you entertained and the time has passed you by.

You have 5 senses.....sight, sound, taste, touch, smell.........you hear things and decide I like or I don't like that. But the simple thing is, it's just a sound. It is when you put your thought on that sound is when it has meaning. All your problems come from this. It is your ego and your own ideas cause you grief or pleasure.

The point of meditation is to be in the present, and observe.....that is where wisdom comes from. When something is said to you, instead of applying all your ideas and emotions on the sounds, hear them as sounds and observe. If you get offended, it is only your problem. If someone bangs loud on the door and it pisses you off (yes, he said piss) it is not the sound that is the problem, it's you.

Meditation is practice of being present and observing what you are doing. You need to live in the present. If you are walking.....or if you are listening to my rant, you cannot shut me up, you cannot control me or anyone else, but you can be present and listen.........if you are sweeping dirt off the ground.......or if you are in the toilet dropping a bomb.......make your mind where you are currently at"

Yes, you read it.......the holy monk said "dropping a bomb". I was in a ever-so-present stupor. I was so shocked I couldn't even laugh or smile.

He took us through a TWO hour walking meditation, we walked ten paces as SLOW as a man in a nursing home. Singing about each step. After 10 paces we would stand and sing that we were aware we are standing........then we would sing that we wanted to turn around and walk again. OH IT WAS PAINFUL....every muscle was sore, I felt I had wedgy, I had to pee, I was hungry, I was thirsty, my leg itched.....I had every reason in the book not to concentrate. I challenged myself to walk just TWO paces without thinking of anything but my walking......pretty much impossible. I thought I was trapped, and I had no idea when it was going to end. But I couldn't offend and and leave.

I appreciated the premise and was grateful a monk took 4 hours out of his life to teach us just because we walked up and asked.

Afterward, Gen and I went and had a drink.

I love you guys.















Advertisement



23rd February 2011

You rock!
What an excellent travel blog! I'm so happy for you! It's like being there with you, or being able to peek over your shoulder, so cool! Thank you for being such a courageous traveler.
23rd February 2011

words of wisdom
Love the words of wisdom!!!! Monks and cooks rock. I'm sure the drink never tasted better. Did you concentrate on the moment of the drink and the total effect of it? Can't wait to experience that and a dinner when you get back.
23rd February 2011

All you
Great blogs babe. Pure Ames wit and wisdom. We should get you your own cable show. I know the face you made when the monk talked about dropping bombs. But your blogs really make me hungry, well except the turles. Keep 'em coming. Enjoy my darlin'. Godspeed and God kept in your travels. You shine with the rest of His beautiful creations out there. All my love
23rd February 2011

WOW...
Great stuff Ames...
23rd February 2011

helz yeah!
OMG, I enjoyed that glass of wine!
23rd February 2011

thank you love of my life......I wish you had been there......not during the part when he said 'drop the bomb' though....I would have not been able to keep it together if my bff was there to eg' me on
23rd February 2011

thank you, sweet Paulie! Much love!
23rd February 2011

HELLO BANKOK!
Enis! Or who-ever! I can see you are having the time of your life! You can see where the statement "travel is broadening" came from, right? Keep sampling the foreign life most Okies never imagine, just keep the BeGees attitude from their song, "Staying Alive" running in your head and your trip will be a lasting memory you will always own! Take care! Islandman
23rd February 2011

Walking to and fro
Wow. I've read over and over the part where we "put our ideas on the thoughts then give it meaning". I will be thinking about this for a long time as I always thought I was just being efficient... As we are triune, (I thought that was a word but I can't find in dictionary, but since I need it, I'll just go ahead and use...) beings, I consider Buddhism experts in the soulish realm. Is below link the Temple where you were??? http://davesworldtravel.com/2009/bangkok-thailand-its-the-place-to-be Let me know when exactly you will be hanging w/ the elephants. I don't care what the good Monk advises, I will be thinking of you at that particular time no matter what I'm doing. Love you to the moon, oxoxo Mum
2nd March 2011

Blessings and such
Amy I love this blog entry! Pleeeeeease cook thai food for me when you get home! :) I'm so jealous of all of your adventures. How wonderful! Meanwhile, I love that you received a blessing from a Hindu priest, and instruction on how to meditate from a Buddist monk. I love your spirit of adventure and wonder. Could I please go on a trip with you sometime? Just amazing! :)

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb