Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
December 9th 2010
Published: December 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

so we love bangkok, we spent 3 nights there and have decided to go back later in our trip--- the second day we went to Wat Pho which is a Buddhist temple complex that houses a massive reclining Buddha- and it is massive!!!! I need to get my technical head on and figure out how to upload photos so you all can see.....I learned the different positions of Buddhas mean different things/stages of his life- so this reclining one is the point he died and found enlightenment! in the place it is housed there are pots the whole length of the Buddha that you a drop in a coin in each one to bring good luck- so I said a name of everyone I know for each coin so if you get some good luck anytime soon you know who to thank!!! good luck all round!!!! I love the whole Buddhist philosophy and you can tell by being here that it is all a sense of calmness and peace- it's catching!!!! I may become Buddhist!!!!
sorry to rub this bit in but the weather is amazing.....that's the only time I'll mention it cos I know it's totally sick at home and I would hate to brag about the fact it's 30•+ here!!! that's it over!!!!
but it was so hot this day we were actually worn out from the heat so we found our way v
back to the hotel got freshened up and thought we would sample the craziness of khao San road....for you that haven't heard this is 'blackpool' central!! bars, clubs, lights, beer everywhere- so we weren't rude and found a cool bar "hippie de bar" and drank lots of Chang and some jack Daniels and got a bit merry!!!! on our way home we came across a street performance of hip hop dancers that were actually the best dancers ever!! they were absolutely amazing!!! neither of us can actually remember what time we finally got back- but there's some photos that were taken on the walk home that I don't really remember taking!!!! signs if a good night!!!
next day we woke up and tho my head was a bit fuzzy Lee was in a right state haha he can not handle it like me!!!! so, the only option for a hangover- macdonalds!!!!! now, a large meal here is actually a supersize so it took some time to go down- the whole time Lee was green!!! he really suffered for those jd and cokes!!!! we headed out to the shopping district which I kept feeling was exactly how I imagine Tokyo- huge skyscrapers and tv screens and advertising- I think this sorted Lee out- he needs technology in his life or he doesn't function- after a month in India of none- this was heaven for him....and he found an apple shop which put a smile on his face!!! we came across a big Xmas display called 'happy world' which made me realise it is actually Xmas very soon yet I totally forgot - it really isn't the same when you're not at home!!!
so all in all we loved Bangkok- the backpacker ghetto, the modern city, everything- so we're coming back in January before we go to cambodia!
so tomorrow we're on the move again for some war history in kanchanaburi (bridge over the river Kwai)....looking forward to it!!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb