watch out for the step.


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
March 6th 2006
Published: March 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Day 4 and I have everything in place for my journey to Chang Mai by train at 7:40pm, it was so nice to just spend they day just watching the local Thai people go about there business from the my table at the Guest house. They are so are relaxed with everything they do, the women are the people who make this country go some where and I fined it amazing how slow life can go by when you consider a city with the population of 9 million people.
Now to a funny moment, after lunch I decided to go to Wat Thewarat Kunchon Temple just down the road from my Guest House and take some pics, a young Buddhist monk was in the temple taking offerings from the local people. I sat and spoke with him for a short time and he even prayed for my safety while I travelled on my Journey.
So then I decided to have a Thai Massage next door to my G/H. and in the process of going to the toilet I clipped my little toe on the corner brickwork. What bloody pain one feels when this happens we all know, so not letting on to the young girl what had just happened I proceeded with the massage. Nice until she started pulling and pushing on my left foot, she could not speak any English so with me groaning in pain and when I said “no I think she thought maybe I said “yo”, I hopped out felling great all over but that left foot.
The end result is it’s swollen and now becoming a black toe. Not having much luck in good old Thailand you might say, so much for that monk at the temple.
My plans for trekking might have to change a little, give the old toe some rest. Will hire a motor bike (yes I will take it easy) and head northwest from Chang Mai to a village called Pai. I hear it’s a great little hippy community, and sure to find the correct remedy for such a problem. Not happy about this but hey the show must go on.
As I write this blog its 7am and have just woken from a big night on the train, which takes 13 hrs to arrive to Chang Mai, enjoyed a bit of a party last night they even had this bar/club lounge which was great for numbing the toe.
The Thai are very friendly people, and patience needs to be taken when trying to convey with them. We need to remember that they are learning a second language English and it may not happen as fast as we would like. By knowing the basic words like hello and thankyou get you so much more respect.

Shannon


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb