Getting to know you... (King and I...)


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
February 15th 2009
Published: February 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

On my last day in Chiang Mai I spent the time having a walk with a retired French man (practising for my job which starts in about 5 weeks), getting my toe nails painted green and sitting in a sauna.

We all took the night train back to Bangkok, for some reason the seats were designed for 1 and a half people to sit on them, not two, so this time our card games were rather squished!

We arrived back into the big city around 7:30am, checked into our hotel then went off in search of cheap and yummy breakfast

I decided to go to the beautiful Grand Palace. As it was barely 8:30, I didn't think it would be too busy which would make for better pictures. However, it was rammed, goodness knows what it's like later on in the day! I was wearing shortish shorts, so had to don a long skirt, I actually quite liked it! The palace was very pretty, very elaborate. I saw the emerald buddha, but I was very surprised how small he was after the monster I saw in Japan, but then this one is made of jade which is pretty impressive really! I looked for the King but he never came (well God take care of him all the same, says Lizzy). I think maybe my mum is the only one who will get my song references :-)

On my return I went for a quick fitting for a couple of dresses I'm getting made here in Thailand then headed out to Chatuchak weekend market with the boys. It was stinking hot and really busy so we didn't really last much more than a couple of hours.

I spent the afternoon uploading the photos for this, met my new tour group for the next section of my trip and went out for dinner with them.

Stu and Gary and staying on with me for this section, so after our group meal we went to say farewell to Damo and Mike who are now going their separate ways.

Monday I am spending at the hospital, getting blood tests to check everything that they decided in New Zealand is all good. Thank fully the hospital is massive and has the internet, blog is now all up to date...


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



16th February 2009

Wow even early mornings are busy!! You actually have time to do a lot and you seem to enjoy it. I really liked your pics and im thionking about visiting Thailand. All of the things are made of gold!!!

Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.1461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb