Day 2


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 1st 2009
Published: January 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Impressions of Bangkok: Everyone tries to rip you off!!

I ended up being pretty bossy, haha. "300 Baht!" me: "No! 80 Baht!"... "ok". Haha, dead set though, they see you coming, they think "White person, foreigner, probably doesn't know how to speak Thai, let's get her!" I won in the end.

So I decided to go for a swim this morning. The pool is on the roof, so I took the lift to level 21, and followed the prompts which led to a darkened stairwell, which led to another and then another. I finally got to the top only to discover it wasn't open... apparently because of typhoon weather? lol. I don't know about that! So I begrudgingly trudged back down to 21 only to greet the pool tender who told me he was going up to open the pool! Geeezzz!!!

I wanted to hit the town, so I got a taxi to the river Chao Phraya to take a ride on a longtail. The driver took me all around the major channels and then dropped me at the Grand Palace. From there I walked to the "reclining Buddha" or Wat Po. I then got a Tuk-Tuk to the market place MBK and literally shopped till I dropped (not that I bought anything for myself...). I was so exhausted I just sat at the food court for an hour and read! Haha.

So I then got another Tuk tuk back to Chinatown and walked through the crazy markets there, contemplating buying food but not actually. I might get some Cha Siew Paos on my way back out, at least I know I'm safe there haha.

And apparently there was a Nightclub fire last night? First I've heard of it! I watched The Crocodile Hunter today with Thai voice over. Classic! I'll try and upload some piccies when I get to the airport.

Ciao for now! xoxox Lex

Advertisement



1st January 2009

yes there was a fire. good to know you wasn't in it. :D 80 baht is like a fortune in thailand... :D don't worry about food poisoning. just make sure you order fried rice you plick.

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb