21&22 Dec


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
December 22nd 2008
Published: December 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

The past two days were better. Yesterday, I basically walked through the whole Banglamphu and Ratchadamnoen areas and later asked a taxi driver to take me where there's no "falang". He took me to the other side of the river and I could feel by the way the locals looked at me, that there's not a lot of tourists there. After my walk I asked the same driver to take me where he usually eats and it was 25 Baht for a full meal from this really old lady from a little dirty kitchen of the street. The food was really spicy but really good.

The evening I decided tp take a walk in the KhoaSarn road area again and got lost. Went to bed fairly early (11).

Today I visited a couple of Wats (temples). I asked a Tuk Tuk driver to take me there. He said 10baht and I said I would walk there. Then he said 5 and I said 1. He agreed, but I had to help him get petrol first. How it works is that he takes me to a travel agent, and I should hang around and act stupid for 10 minutes and then the travel agent will give him petrol money. So I did it and the guy was really glad that I played along. So he dropped me off for "flee" (free)

First I visited Wat Phra Kaew (where the King used to live) and then Wat Pho, or the sleeping Budha. See photos attached. I then walked back to Banglamphu through a really secluded Thai villiage where I also had lunch.

Tonight I'm taking a overnight bus to Chiang Mai, in the north.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb