Arroyo's at Tiger Temple


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 5th 2008
Published: April 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Floating MarketsFloating MarketsFloating Markets

Arn't the colors amazing?
Oh people, what a crazy day we had.

It started off early in the AM. We headed for the floating markets, which were so fun and entertaining. We get on this little boat and float around for awhile. Every few minutes Tong hands us a different food to taste. Some of it was wonderful and are things we never would have attempted to try without her, well forcing us. 😊 Tong had the driver take us all around the back canals, which was so cool. Unlike the main market area where everything is packed, this was a quiet little detour that we all enjoyed. We really did enjoy every aspect of the floating markets and would recommend them to anyone. This was the one site that I really wanted to experiance and I am so glad I did. Now I can check that off my list.

Now, Tiger Temple, what a freaky adventure that was. Would never in a million years do it again with kids. First of all, it was hot and I mean hot. Tiger Temple was in the middle of the countryside with not much tree cover. Very pretty really, just really hot. Now, we get
Hostile Water BuffaloHostile Water BuffaloHostile Water Buffalo

They felt closer then they look in the picture.
out of the car and wonderful Tong gives us a run down of the rules as we are walking in. As she is talking, we are stopped by a herd of mules that want to come out of the gate we wanted to walk into. It was very funny and was pretty much, the last funny part of the day.

So we pass the mules and Tong continues to give us the run down. The last thing she says to us is, don't let the baby cry because it will upset the Tiger's and they may try to attack. My body pretty much stopped and my first thought was how in the HELL do you expect me to keep a 14 month old from crying, babbling or even squealing. From that moment on, I was a nervous wreak. I should have just turned around, but Sophia wanted to see the tigers, which looking back I think was equally stupid and wonder what I was thinking. Yes, I do consider myself a pretty good parent, but this was not one of my finer moments.

So, first we come up to a pond of water buffalo. Tong let's me know that they can be more dangerous then the tigers since they are free roaming and not to get eye contact with them. Great, more fear. We make our way up to the tigers and I'm feeling ok because, well they are tied to a tree. We get a few pictures and then the monks un-tie them from the tree and off we go walking. Every, oh I don't know 5 SECONDS!!!, the lead monk would turn around and say something to Tong and then she would turn to us saying, "keep up and don't let the baby make a sound". What the.... So, I am carrying the baby, sweating to death, trying to watch a 5-year old, keeping Eddie occupied because he was about to snap and well did, sorry Tong and keep a baby from crying. Do you feel my pain yet???? Anyhoo, we get down to the open area where the tigers are kept for pictures Sophia and Eddie go take pictures, I refuse to go, still don't feel like I missed anything and then hightailed it back up the hill and away from the baby eatting Tigers.

At the top of the hill back where we started there we some amazingly adorable baby tiger cubs. Sophia sat next to one and took the most amazing pictures. I was like, this is cool, I can do this, so I sit down with Audrey pose and in a second the baby cub takes his ginormous paw and tries to wack Audrey. Up I jump, not so comfy anymore and I step asside. At this point I am ready to go, but Tong brought some milk tablets for the cubs. So Sophia fed the babies them and loved it. It really was cute.

After that, Tong takes us to meet Bam Bam. Now that was a fun experiance. We actually went in his/her (not really sure) cage and fed him/her milk. That was really fun, the baby stayed outside.

After that I was ready to go home. I was just emotionally spent. On the way back to the car we ran into our friends the wild horses and some wild pigs. That was cool too. Once back in the car, we drove by the River Kwai and headed back to the hotel.

We rested awhile and then I ended up taking the girls shopping at this wonderful little open shopping center while Eddie slept. That was the most fun part of the entire day. Eddie never should have left me alone with cash in a Thailand shopping center. Silly boys.... haven't you learned by now. 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Another great idea... Mom award!Another great idea... Mom award!
Another great idea... Mom award!

This is just before he saw Audrey's leg and decided that it could be lunch. I don't think I ever jumped away from anything so fast in my life.


9th April 2008

Hi Aj
what a great read. My heart went out to you. We took our 10 month old last trip but didn't take him near tigers. Now he is 3 and I'm not so sure I can guarantee he will be quiet!! So he might miss out again. Where was the shopping area you went to at Kanchanaburi? Was it worth going to? Karin

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb