Bangkok- new friends, Chang Mia-elephants, rafting, blessings, kick boxing and ladyboys, one hell of a day


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 17th 2008
Published: January 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hiya all, been abit poorly so way behind with my blogg, instead of rushing it and not getting quite right, its going to just take me a wee while to get up to date so here goes.
Leaving the girls from my last group in the hostel in Hong Kong and going it alone for 24 hours felt a wee bit daunting, but when i got on the plane and into Bangkok my feet didn't touch the ground. stayed in an ace hostel, where I decided with abit of advice to leave half my stuff in a locker till I return to Bangkok as it was a real pain in the arse to cary all my winter clothes, so i left the hostel liberated and ready to start a new tour after spending an excellent nights company with others staying at the hostel.
Bangkok was hot and sweaty compared to China and very different. Ko San Rd is somewhere i thought i would hate and would see as a backpackers nightmare, yes it is really touristy but worth a look and a good ice breaker with my new group. After a trip down the river and visiting a few temples, we took an overnight train to Chang Mai.
Life got bit crazier for 24 hours, packed with an elephant ride, bamboo rafting (sorry no pics, as the rafting involved 10 year old boys getting you as wet as possible so no camera), a blessing from a monk in a temple, who gave me a good luck, safe travel bracelet thingy, which he had to tie on without touching me as monks can't touch women, followed by kickboxing at a ladyboy bar, where the girls entertained inbetween fights with redetions like YMCA. All good fun!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 46, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

S6000750S6000750
S6000750

At prayer
S6000696S6000696
S6000696

A very big Buddha in a temple in Bangkok


Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb