A couple of nights in Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
April 30th 2007
Published: April 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Standing Buddah.Standing Buddah.Standing Buddah.

Standing Buddah, Bangkok.
Well I arrrived in Thailand. After a relatively painless sixteen hour journey, form Melbourne to Sydney then to Bangkok.
I found myself walking through Bangkok's new International Suvarnabhumi Airport (BKK) with a grin from ear to ear! I was a little anxious, as I waited for my bag to come off the turnstile, of course it was the last one, but everythig ran incredably smoothly. I made my way through hordes of bustling, sticky people to the taxi rank and after many offers, I found someone to take me to my Hostel.
Mr Jack, as his business card read, was my taxi driver and first contact in Thailand. As we sped away from Bangkok's newest airport, I tried to really come to grips with where I was and what was around me. Thailand is a unifiedi kingdom established in the mid-14th century. Known as Siam until 1939. It is the only Southeast Asian country never to have been taken over by a European power. But as I sat in the back of Mr Jacks 'Private Taxi' I found that hard to believe. For I was crammed in the back seat, backpack in towe, of a very small suzuki. watching Mr
Golden Mountain.Golden Mountain.Golden Mountain.

Golden Mountain,Bangkok.
Jack snd his total contempt for any kind of road rule. With Leanne Rhymes country ballard "What would I do" blarring from all speakers. When Mr Jack told me to inform the three Police men starring through our passenger side window, that "Mr Jack and I are actually friends", as he is not allowed to drive a taxi in Thailand anymore, hence the reason for there being no meter in the car.
After around half an hour in the taxi I arrived at Ko San Road, and at my hostel, $14 AU found me in the lap of luxuary, with a shower and a toilet, something's I dont think I'll be getting used to.
After a few beers and a good nights sleep, I set out into Bangkok. Fortunately for me it was the King Bhumibol Adulyadej's 80'th birthday, which meant, if you could find a tuk tuk driver wearing a symbolic yellow shirt, you could tour the city for the whole day for only 20 Baht ($1 AU). I quickly found one and decided to fit in as much as I could for the price. My first stop was the enourmaous standing Buddah, the largest in the world. It
Marble Temple.Marble Temple.Marble Temple.

Marble Temple,Bangkok.
was quite impressive, standing aroud 70m tall and completely plated with gold leaf. From there I continued to the marble temple, Wat Benchamabophit. This was impressive, but was about to close, do the Buddhist Monks could conduct their daily lunchtime prayers.
From there I carried on to the Golden Mountain, or Wat Saket. The steep climb to the tip of the Golden Mountain offers views over Rattanakosin Island, and takes about 20 minutes tio reach the top. This artificial hill was made out of mud and brick by King Rama III (1800s). After catching my breath and taking in the views form the top for a while I slowly climed down, got a ride home and relaxed for the rest of the day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0582s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb