A Very Central Asian Holiday


Advertisement
Tajikistan's flag
Asia » Tajikistan » Khujand
January 9th 2013
Published: January 9th 2013
Edit Blog Post

A picture is worth a thousand words, so please allow me to share many...much love!


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

War Is OverWar Is Over
War Is Over

My gleeful students after their awesome performance of "Happy Xmas" at the university party. One day, I will upload the video and bring joy to all.
I Go Back to December Allll the TimeI Go Back to December Allll the Time
I Go Back to December Allll the Time

Christmas Eve-Eve was spent with these very cool (and very younger than me) people, sitting on this couch next to this radiator singing Taylor Swift songs.
Home of King PlaceHome of King Place
Home of King Place

Christmas Eve was at this very old palace on the outskirts of Dushanbe. We couldn't figure out how to tell the taxi driver where to go, so my friend Javid said "place of house of king?" It worked.
...and a pensive camel...and a pensive camel
...and a pensive camel

You'd never know that 2 days later I would be a mess because a freakish snowstorm cancelled my flight to Turkey...
Workers of the World, Unite!Workers of the World, Unite!
Workers of the World, Unite!

...is what this old Soviet flag says.
Christmas DinnerChristmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

It's called Qurutob, and it is Christmas colors! And very delicious.
This GuyThis Guy
This Guy

But I DID make it to Turkey, thank the Lord, and so did someone from far far away, lucky me.
Underground CisternUnderground Cistern
Underground Cistern

Very coolly lit underground Byzantine water-storing place.
Fish!Fish!
Fish!

Fishermen on the Galata Bridge in Istanbul...I was so happy to eat fish.
Whirling DervishesWhirling Dervishes
Whirling Dervishes

They were whirling in a train station, so probs not the most religious of experiences for them, but it sure was cool for all us spectators.
My Favorite Thing...My Favorite Thing...
My Favorite Thing...

...about Topkapi Palace was the beautiful tiles covering everything.
For Mary...For Mary...
For Mary...

A picture of Florence Nightingale at the Turkish bath I went to. She went there too!
For Annie...For Annie...
For Annie...

It's everywhere!
Magical...Column?Magical...Column?
Magical...Column?

In the Hagia Sofia...supposedly you stick your finger in and make a wish? Nevermind.


9th January 2013
Hobbit Door

Amazing! Makes me think "Speak friend, and enter..."
9th January 2013
Workers of the World, Unite!

Wow! A true historic relic!
9th January 2013
Underground Cistern

um...hate to beat the LOTR thing to death, but I'm thinking the great hall of the dwarves?? ;)
10th January 2013

Tay Tay!
I can't believe you titled a picture after a Taylor Swift song. Good for you! And good for Flo! She is the coolest. I forgot to ask you about the Turkish baths but I'm glad you got to go get toasty warm. I miss Istanbul! And you!
15th February 2013

a turkish gap! who would have thought??
everything looks so beautiful including you!!

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb