Integration a la Taiwanese


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Taipei
October 17th 2006
Published: October 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Socrates once wrote: “the unexamined life is not worth living.” Even though this was back in 400 BC, this wise man’s words seem all too relevant; or so it would seem…

One week into this adventure and I can already say that this has been one of craziest experience ever. To soothe the cultural barriers and the ensuing confusion and pain, I have been blessed with Becca’s presence and, get this: my old man! Haven’t seen my dad in about a year and he just happens to be in Taiwan the first week I’m there. Needless to say, having those two around has been a massive comforting element.

So I finally moved into my new apartment: a nice modern two bedroom duplex, right in the heart of the Business District, really close to the Subway station. Some would call it convenient, ultra modern and spiffy…I call it home. Well, as much of a “home” as it can be, being so far away from anything that actually induces a feeling of belonging. For all intents and purposes, this will be it: my crib for the next 6 to 8 months. I spent my first night there last night with Becca
YangminghanYangminghanYangminghan

view from the top
and woke up to the all too familiar sounds of horns and screeching tires. A strange reminiscence crept in as I remembered the countless number of nights spent desperately trying to fall asleep when all I could hear was the Avenue A raucous. Ah, New York! Ironically, the city that never sleeps seems rather appeasing right about now.

Where to begin? Let’s see… To start off, try signing a lease in Mandarin and moving into an unfurnished apartment, set up the internet, phone, all while negotiating prices and assuring that you’re not getting ripped off like prom dress. Talk about a nice transitional feat to overcome. It’s funny though, at the risk of sounding culturally insensitive and blatantly generalizing, Asians seem very passive in their negotiating skills - or perhaps just overly confused as to why I would ever decide move into their country to work for 8 months!

And then there was the furniture…desperately trying to explain what I needed in my apartment. Seriously, if you ever end up on this side of the world; try using your hands to explain to the Sales rep at Ikea that you need a rack to dry your clothes. A
TaipeiTaipeiTaipei

The Cottins in Taipei
very valuable humbling experience, I assure you.

And the food! To say that I have tried some of the craziest shit ever would be a stark understatement. Duck tongue, fish eyes, braised goose, liver, intestines and all kinds of organs that I didn’t even know existed. A number of non-descript fried items that I cannot pronounce, much less write. I think Marvin Harris put it best when he wrote: “Good to Eat is another extension of a perspective on how to account for cultural differences and similarities on a global basis.” For the most part, the food has been really good though. It has been, to say the least, a truly memorable culinary experience thus far.

As for the numerous cultural discoveries, Becca and I have been tearing the city apart. Hopping around from temple to temple, lighting all kinds of candles and hoping to get all our wishes and questions answered by the many Buddhist Gods. We’ve also checked out the surrounding areas, including the truly inspiring Yangminghan National Park as well as the quaint port of Danshui (see pictures). It was there that Becca and I had our first taste of the elusive Stinky tofu, which rightfully earns its name!

And the night markets…What a cultural artifact! So many stands overflowing with indescribable food, toys, clothes and everything imaginable (and unimaginable) in between, including snakes (alive and on your plate).

For more on this cultural phenomenon, check out:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Night_markets_in_Taiwan

Several cups of bubble tea, a copious amount of dim sums, and many close scooter disasters later, I can honestly say that I’m most certainly examining my life in a different way. “che chee” Mr. Socrates.



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Yangminghan National Park Yangminghan National Park
Yangminghan National Park

One of the many pagodas
Signing a lease in TaiwanSigning a lease in Taiwan
Signing a lease in Taiwan

My colleague Karolien deep into contract formalities
Snake AlleySnake Alley
Snake Alley

Bex being adventurous
Snake AlleySnake Alley
Snake Alley

A regular of the night market
DanshuiDanshui
Danshui

Blending in?
DanshuiDanshui
Danshui

One of the thousands of food stalls
Taipei 101Taipei 101
Taipei 101

Currently the world's tallest building (508 meters). It takes 37 seconds to get to the top
TeaTea
Tea

A real institutional delight


18th October 2006

Wicked ;) Definitely does put things in perspective! lol! Passive negotiating skills my arse! Or maybe you meant to say passive aggressive....
18th October 2006

Greetings from Cologne
Whao that sounds like a great adventure...I really like your style of writing keep it up, I am very interested how life develops for you there. "Che Chee" or Prost...
18th October 2006

You should have started training for your cultural immersion in Chinatown right here in NYC. I've started hi-fiving other non-asians I see on the street. I'm serious.
18th October 2006

love your blog alex. i hope you have an outstanding 8 months. enjoy bexx while you can. thanks for letting us into your world, its intense and quite amazing. see ya!
18th October 2006

All the best
Hello Alex and Becca, I am glad Taiwan is such an adventure to you that you may explore together during the first time of Alex' stay. Now that Becca knows where Alex' is at, it is probably easier for her to understand and feel with him when she gets back home. Take care, M.

Tot: 0.201s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 22; qc: 101; dbt: 0.1301s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb