The Finale in Taipei - 19th April 2014


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Taipei » Ximending
April 19th 2014
Published: July 1st 2014
Edit Blog Post

Saturday, 19th April 2014

We started our journey eight days earlier when our Jetstar flight landed at Taoyuan International Airport. We then journeyed along the east coast of Taiwan to cover the beautiful landscapes of Taitung and Yilan counties. Along the way, we stopped by at the historic mining town of Shifen even though none of us were too impressed by the whole experience.

After breakfast today, we headed separate ways again where I took the metro to the Sun Yat Sen Memorial Hall. I had ample time to browse through the exhibits before catching a glimpse of the hourly Changing of Guards Ceremony at the Main Hall. I couldn't stay for the entire duration as the crowds were slowly building up around me.

Heading to the Eslite Bookstore on my final day in the city, I finally caught hold of a travelogue that I fancied, Living Art at the Speed of Light. As I stood for a breather in front of the massive City Hall Building in front of me, the Taipei 101 Tower was for once, relegated to a secondary importance.

Slowly but surely, when it was time for us to head for the airport in the late afternoon, we were happy to be back in Singapore again.

Nevertheless, when I looked back from my 7 visits over the past 9 years, there was nothing but fond memories of beautiful Taiwan!

And I'm certainly planning for my next trip in the near future.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.414s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 20; qc: 82; dbt: 0.3041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb