My experience & impressions (Sri Lanka - part 3)


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka
March 3rd 2010
Published: March 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

There were two types of people I met on this trip. The first one said "Hello!" to ask me if I needed a tuk tuk or they wanted me to buy something at their shops. Often I replied to them "I am walking to the beach", or "I already booked a car". People in the second group said "Hello!" with big and happy smiles, and I could say that their smiles were one of the biggest and happiest I've ever seen. Perhaps it is because the Sri Lankans live near the sea and the sun shines most of the time, they seem to have a great affection for life, although the country just ended their 26 years of the civil war against the Tamil Tiger separatists in 2009. When I was walking down a street in Negombo, some children sitting on a fence wall waved to me and said "Hello!". Next to them were local tuk tuk drivers who also looked friendly. An old man on a bicycle passed by me and smiled with his warm greetings. Young boys were playing football at the beach also asked me if I needed any help and I asked them how I could get from the beach to the main street. My guesthouse owner is a 73 year old man. He and his grandson prepared a room for me and the little boy ran up and down stairs in order to bring all necessary things for me. The ladies at the guesthouse also smiled and asked me how many days I would stay. The first talk with this local family made me feel from my heart a great care in this beautiful country.

Everyday I met a nice local man (photo No. 15) who is a talented artist. He owns a painting shop near my guesthouse and also helps in his friend's restaurant next door. Because he sold me Sri Lankan souvenirs at cheap price and helped me order food, I presented him a small gift from Vietnam. He was very touched and asked me to choose anything inside his glass case as a gift from himself. A fisherman also invited me to visit his house and 3 local boys invited me to go and have some drinks with them, but I gently refused their offers.

Three questions people often asked me:
"Do you like Sri Lanka?" => Yes, I do.
"Will
The gate to the Indian OceanThe gate to the Indian OceanThe gate to the Indian Ocean

The beach in Negombo town.
you go back to Sri Lanka? => I hope so. Next time I will not go alone.
"Do you want to marry a Sri Lankan man?" => No, I cannot eat with my hand.
They said "You can eat with a spoon" and we all laughed.

Talking about eating with hand, I'd been to India and Nepal before, but never ate with any locals. This time I had the chance to have lunch with my Sri Lankan driver on the way from Dambulla back to Negombo. There were 6 little bowls of chicken curry and other food which I didn't know their contents (photo No. 29). The driver mixed them with rice and ate with his right fingers. He told me that when they ate the food with hands, they could feel the taste better than using chopsticks, forks or spoons.

I have some more information to share with you:

1. The best time to visit Sri Lanka is from October to March. After that, there are less tourists who visit the country according to a local man.

2. Bring mosquito repellent with you. The mosquitoes in Negombo town were the worst I've known and I got lots of mosquito bites every evening, at the restaurant or outside on the street. The locals talked about mosquito oil, but I never used it. My visit in February was still in the dry season, I cannot imagine how it will be like in the wet season. Hotels and guest houses also provide you with mosquito nets.

3. I felt so comfortable while talking with the locals in English. Most people there speak English very well, from a 10 year old kid to a 73 year old man, even beggars, drivers, shop sellers etc.

4. You will have to remove your shoes or sandals, as well as your hats before entering the temples. It's very hot between 10am and 3pm. Be ready with walking on very hot ground and feel your feet burning.

5. For the girls, who plan to travel solo in Sri Lanka, at times you may feel it's difficult to be alone there. I mean harassement from a few local men. I'd been to 15 countries before I went to Sri Lanka. For the first time I had to shout at a man "Crazy" and walked away. When I talked about this with a good local man, he told me I should also say "I'll call police". I hope this helps some girls. I am a positive person, so I don't let one or two bad experiences ruin my trip and I always choose good people to spend time with them.

6. In Nepal and India, you hear people say "Namaste" as "Hello!", in Sri Lanka they use a different word. Women in Sri Lanka also don't wear Sari so often like the ones in Nepal and India. They wear T-shirts and long skirts, perhaps these make them feel cooler.

7. Sri Lanka's population is 23 million people. 77% of this are Buddhists. You can find all types of meats on the menu. I often ordered fried rice, fried noodles or pizza. Service charge 10-15% is added. However, a portion was always too much for me (a big plate of rice or noodles). Chicken or fish mixed with rice or noodles are cut into small pieces and also fried, and I found hard to know their real taste. A meal often costs me US$3-5, while a nice souvenir (great paintings on wood) costs only US$1.5. It's different with other countries I've
The Golden Temple in DambullaThe Golden Temple in DambullaThe Golden Temple in Dambulla

Elephants are one of the symbols of Sri Lanka.
been to, where the food is cheaper than souvenirs.

8. Tuk tuk is a popular means of transport in Sri Lanka. Some tuk tuks go very fast with loud music and I think that is quite dangerous. These tuk tuks were made in India and the local drivers painted their tuk tuks with pictures of sun, flowers etc. At the rear of a tuk tuk, I saw the words "Negombo express". You can imagine its speed. I asked a tuk tuk driver about his income. He said during the high tourist season, he could earn US$500/month while normally it's US$100.

9. Security: I didn't see local soldiers during the trip. There was only one check point before our car entered the airport area, but my driver said "No problem for tourists". A policeman opened the door and asked me where I came from and then we could move on, while other cars were carefully checked. The airport is quite modern. Body check-up was just once and bag opening was not necessary. This is much more simple than Nepal.

10. Sri Lanka is the largest tea exporter in the world. To visit the tea plantation farms, you must
The beach in Negombo townThe beach in Negombo townThe beach in Negombo town

Two Indian boys I met at the beach helped me take this shot. They couldn't speak English well, so the only word they told me was "swim". I was wearing Vietnamese traditional dress and standing by the Indian Ocean.
go to the central region of the country. The southernmost region contains the best beaches, as my driver said, they looked like paradise. These words are written on the souvenirs I bought in Sri Lanka "The island paradise" and "A land like no other".

This is my last blog about the 7-day trip to Sri Lanka and Malaysia. The total amounts I spent on 3 separate trips to the Indian Subcontinent (including transit in Bangkok or Kuala Lumpur) during 7-14 days were US$800 (Sri Lanka), US$900 (India) and US$1,000 (Nepal) and I've only been to small parts of these countries. Air tickets and car rental always cost a lot for me, for example, US$720 for round trip flights Hanoi - Bangkok - Kathmandu. I don't know how you could manage traveling in these countries for a long time, while the local bus/train system is not very good.

On my flights to/from Colombo and Kuala Lumpur, the men sitting next to me on the plane were Sri Lankans. The first man is living in the UK and he was going back to Sri Lanka to visit his relatives. I got some useful information from him. The second man was
Tuk Tuks in Negombo townTuk Tuks in Negombo townTuk Tuks in Negombo town

These Tuk Tuks are made in India and one costs approx. US$4,000. They look different with Tuk Tuks in Thailand and Laos.
going to Timor Lester and he is a police officer working on the UN mission. He said to me "So I will never meet you again" and I replied "Yeah, that is travel. We meet someone just once, and never see them again". He was the last Sri Lankan I met on this trip. I miss Sri Lanka and all the great people I spent time with on this trip. I have decided to go back to the Indian Subcontinent one more time this year, as I love this region very much. I already booked my flights and the next destination will be Bangladesh at the end of June.

Other blogs about the same trip:

Negombo beach town (Sri Lanka - part 1)

Sigiriya & Dambulla (Sri Lanka - part 2)

Ấn tượng về chuyến đi Sri Lanka - Tháng 2/2010

Đây là blog cuối cùng của tôi về chuyến đi đến Sri Lanka. Tôi đã có cơ hội đến thăm Negombo, Sigiriya và Dambulla trong chuyến đi này. Những cảm nhận của tôi về Sri Lanka là phong cảnh thiên nhiên ở đây rất đẹp, với bãi biển và màu xanh của cây cỏ trên hòn đảo nhiệt đới. Bên cạnh đó là các di sản văn hoá và lịch sử lâu đời, đặc biệt là các công trình cổ gắn liền với Phật giáo. Dân số của Sri Lanka là 23 triệu người, trong đó 77% người dân theo đạo Phật. Để đến thăm hết các địa danh trong khu Tam giác văn hoá thì cũng phải mất gần một tuần. Tại miền trung của Sri Lanka có các cánh đồng chè và đất nước này xuất khẩu nhiều chè nhất trên thế giới. Còn ở phía cực nam là các bãi biển được ví đẹp như thiên đường. Thời gian tốt nhất để đến thăm Sri Lanka là từ tháng 10 đến hết tháng 3, sau đó là mùa mưa thì ít khách du lịch hơn. Nhiệt độ nóng nhất ở đây có thể lên đến 42°C và người dân ở đây cũng có màu da sẫm hơn so với người dân sống ở các nước ở phía bắc của vùng Tiểu lục địa Ấn. Do thời tiết nóng, nên phụ nữ ở đây không mặc Sari nhiều như ở Ấn Độ và Nepal, mà họ thường mặc áo phông ngắn tay và váy dài vì mát mẻ hơn, còn một số đàn ông thì cởi
Lotus and water-lily flowersLotus and water-lily flowersLotus and water-lily flowers

These flowers are used as offerings at the temples in Sri Lanka.
trần và bên dưới quấn Sarong giống như ở Myanmar. Họ cũng không chào "Namaste" như ở Ấn Độ và Nepal, mà có lời chào riêng khá dài. Thường thì họ chỉ nói "Hello" khi gặp người nước ngoài.

Khi bạn nghe ai đó nói "Hello" thì sẽ có hai mục đích ở đây. Hoặc là họ mời chào bạn một dịch vụ nào đó như thuê xe tuk tuk hay mua hàng của họ và bạn chỉ cần nhẹ nhàng từ chối hoặc tỏ vẻ không quan tâm đến điều đó. Theo kinh nghiệm của bản thân tôi là một cô gái đi du lịch một mình thì ở Ấn Độ và Sri Lanka, bạn phải cẩn thận với những người đàn ông có thể có lời nói khiếm nhã hoặc động chạm đến mình. Bạn chỉ cần phản ứng lại nếu cần. Tại Nepal thì dễ chịu hơn. Lời chào "Hello" thứ hai là những lời chào chân thành thể hiện sự thân thiện và mến khách của họ. Đất nước Sri Lanka đã phải trải qua 26 năm nội chiến chống lại lực lượng "Những con hổ giải phóng Tamil" và chỉ vừa mới hoàn toàn được hưởng hoà bình từ năm 2009. Nhìn chung thì hiện giờ bạn sẽ cảm thấy rất an toàn khi đi du lịch ở Sri Lanka. Bạn sẽ bị kiểm tra an ninh ở sân bay (nhưng không phải mở hành lý). Khi đến gần sân bay, xe ô tô của bạn cũng sẽ bị mở cửa và cảnh sát sẽ hỏi bạn từ đâu đến. Nhưng khách du lịch được ưu tiên cho đi luôn, trong khi các xe khác của người địa phương thì bị kiểm tra kỹ hơn.

Ngoài ra, còn có một số điều bất tiện như là phải bỏ giày dép và mũ trước khi đi vào các ngôi đền. Từ 10 giờ sáng đến 3 giờ chiều, trời rất nóng và bạn sẽ có cảm giác bàn chân bị bỏng rát khi đi trên nền đất. Buổi tối ở Negombo cũng có rất nhiều muỗi, mặc dù tháng 2 đang là mùa khô. Các khách sạn và nhà trọ ở đây đều có treo màn chống muỗi ở trong phòng. Bạn cũng phải tự cảm nhận được những lời mời chào của người địa phương có ẩn ý hướng đến một mục đích
The Indian Ocean The Indian Ocean The Indian Ocean

At the beach in Negombo town, a local guy, who sells boat tour, helped me take this shot. Half of this photo are the blue sky and sea.
nào đó hay không và biết cách từ chối. Ví dụ như một bác ngư dân rủ tôi đến nhà bác chơi hoặc 3 anh chàng rủ tôi đi uống rượu. Tôi từ chối lời mời của họ vì cảm thấy không tiện. Nhìn chung thì phần lớn người dân ở các nơi tôi đến đều rất thân thiện và mến khách. Họ luôn sẵn sàng giúp đỡ khách du lịch và tôi rất thích nụ cười rạng rỡ và hạnh phúc của người dân vùng biển đảo nơi đây. Về đồ ăn thì tôi thường chọn món cơm rang, mì xào thập cẩm hay pizza. Tuy nhiên, thịt gà hoặc cá thì người ta cắt nhỏ thành hình vuông và rán lên, nên chẳng còn vị gì nữa. Đồ ăn ở khu du lịch cũng khá đắt, cộng thêm phí dịch vụ từ 10-15%. Trung bình một bữa ăn tốn từ 3-5 US$, trong khi một món quà lưu niệm dễ thương như tranh trên gỗ thì có giá rất rẻ, chỉ 1,5 US$.

Một điều lưu ý khi bạn xin visa vào Sri Lanka là bạn phải nộp hồ sơ 3-4 tuần trước ngày khởi hành. Bạn
Mountain view from planeMountain view from planeMountain view from plane

I couldn't believe in my eyes that there was such a great mountain scenery in Sri Lanka. Our plane was flying above the central region of the country before heading toward the Bengal bay then Malaysia.
có thể download form xin visa và điền thông tin vào đó (lần đầu tiên khi xin visa tôi thấy người ta hỏi cả chiều cao của mình), nộp thêm 2 ảnh, bản copy vé máy bay khứ hồi và lệ phí 45 US$. Chỉ cần nộp buổi sáng thì buổi chiều bạn đã có visa. Lệ phí visa này không thay đổi theo số ngày bạn đến Sri Lanka. Trong trường hợp ở Nepal, nếu bạn ở ít ngày hơn thì phí visa sẽ rẻ hơn.

Tôi hỏi anh lái xe người Sri Lanka mà đã chở tôi đến thăm hai thành phố cổ là hình dạng của đất nước Sri Lanka được ví với hình gì. Ví dụ như Việt Nam thì giống hình chữ S, còn tôi thì nghĩ Sri Lanka giống hình giọt lệ. Anh lái xe nói rằng người ta không ví von với hình ảnh gì, mà chỉ nói rằng "Hòn đảo thiên đường". Khi đi cùng anh lái xe người địa phương thì mọi việc dễ dàng hơn rất nhiều, vì anh nói chuyện trực tiếp với người bán hàng và giá cả cũng rẻ hơn. Bữa ăn trưa cùng bàn với anh lái xe rất thú vị, vì lần đầu tiên tôi được nhìn thấy tận mắt người ta ăn bằng tay như thế nào. 6 chiếc bát nhỏ (trong đó có một bát là ca ri gà) được bày ra bàn cùng với một đĩa cơm nóng (ảnh số 29). Anh lái xe trộn các thứ với nhau và ăn ngon lành bằng các ngón tay phải. Anh nói rằng khi ăn bằng tay thì người ta sẽ cảm nhận đầy đủ hương vị của đồ ăn tốt hơn là ăn bằng thìa. Người phục vụ có đặt một bát nước ở bên cạnh để anh có thể rửa tay sơ qua sau khi ăn cơm xong, nhưng sau đó thì anh vẫn phải vào nhà vệ sinh để rửa tay bằng xà phòng.

Những điều mà tôi thích nhất trong chuyến đi 7 ngày là phong cảnh vùng nông thôn trên đường đến các thành phố cổ, những bức tượng Phật tuyệt đẹp bên trong các hang đá ở Dambulla, thành phố biển Negombo thanh bình với những cánh buồm cùng với màu xanh biếc của bầu trời và vùng biển Ấn Độ Dương. Tôi rất nhớ những
A Sri Lankan artist & his paintingsA Sri Lankan artist & his paintingsA Sri Lankan artist & his paintings

This Sri Lankan man helped me a lot during my stay in Negombo. He sold me souvenirs at cheaper price, presented me a gift and helped me order food. I asked him about price for his paintings, and he said each painting cost 2,500 rupees (about US$25).
người dân thân thiện mà tôi đã gặp gỡ trong chuyến đi này. Ông già và cậu bé ở nhà trọ Jeero là những người để lại ấn tượng đầu tiên trong tôi về sự ấm áp của tình người trên đất nước bạn. Anh hoạ sỹ tài năng (ảnh số 15) thường giúp tôi đặt món ăn và bán đồ lưu niệm giá rẻ cho tôi, tối tối anh lại cầm chiếc vợt điện bắt muỗi. Tôi cũng tặng cho anh một món quà lưu niệm của Việt Nam và anh rất cảm động. Anh bảo tôi chọn lấy bất kỳ thứ đồ nào mà tôi thích bên trong tủ đồ lưu niệm, coi như là quà tặng của anh. Những đứa trẻ ngồi trên hàng rào vẫy chào tôi, bên cạnh đó là những người lái xe tuk tuk vui tính. Tôi cũng thấy rất buồn cười khi anh phụ xe đưa cho tôi cả một cọc tiền 950 rupees toàn tiền lẻ 10-20-50 rupees, vì giá vé chỉ có 50 rupees mà tôi đưa cho anh tờ 1.000 rupees quá to. Bác lái xe buýt thân thiện và ân cần với nụ cười hiền từ cũng như một ông già đạp xe trên phố chào tôi “Hello”. Một cậu thanh niên đang chơi bóng đá trên bãi biển cũng dừng chơi để hỏi tôi có cần gì không và chỉ đường cho tôi. Hai người đàn ông ngồi cạnh tôi trên máy bay cả chặng đi và về đều là người Sri Lanka và tôi biết được rất nhiều điều về đất nước họ.

Sri Lanka là nước thứ 16 mà tôi đã đến thăm. Tổng chi phí của tôi trong 3 chuyến đi đến Ấn Độ, Nepal và Sri Lanka là 2.700 US$, trong đó vé máy bay đi Nepal là đắt nhất, 720 US$. Tôi rất thích vùng Tiểu lục địa Ấn và đã quyết định sẽ quay lại đây một lần nữa trong năm nay. Tôi đã book vé máy bay và cuối tháng 6 này tôi sẽ đến thăm đất nước Bangladesh. Một chuyến đi khác nữa sắp đến và tôi vẫn sẽ là người lữ hành đơn độc. Tôi rất thích bầu không khí sôi động của vùng Tiểu lục địa Ấn. Có một cái gì đó rất cuốn hút ở đây. Dường như ở mỗi góc phố đều gắn liền với lịch sử thăng trầm, những nền văn hoá và tôn giáo nhiều bản sắc, cộng thêm âm nhạc, mùi hương trầm, những bộ trang phục truyền thống nhiều màu sắc, rất nhiều loại phương tiện giao thông đôi lúc hỗn loạn, và những con người mà khi tiếp xúc với họ bạn cảm thấy vừa khó khăn lại vừa dễ dàng, có lúc làm bạn bực mình, nhưng cũng có khi làm bạn thực sự xúc động. Có lẽ chính vì những thử thách đó mà tôi rất yêu mến vùng đất này và luôn mong muốn được quay trở lại nơi đây.


Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 30


Advertisement

Souvenirs from Sri LankaSouvenirs from Sri Lanka
Souvenirs from Sri Lanka

On this trip, I bought many souvenirs and postcards as they were so cheap.


3rd March 2010

Sri Lanka
Thanks for your blog (part 3). Besides visiting interesting sites, I really feel that those people I met during travels live with me forever rather than the places.
3rd March 2010

Your Photos are very good.
Thankyou for including more Photos of Your self. Your natural beauty is outstanding, and helps Your travel experience presentation a lot. I like Your Photos much more than the Buddha idols and Temples. You are a Beautifull living person, compared to Buddha, who has no life, and not so beautifull. It is just a little interesting to learn about the extent of the Buddha influence compared to the incredible beauty of Nature. However You are doing a great work with Your Travel experience commentary. Be encouraged.!!!!!
4th March 2010

Supeb photo's
Greetings from Cyprus, enjoyed the blog and the great photo's, Regards http://anewlifeincyprus.blogspot.com/
5th March 2010

Very COOL blog!
Hi, your blog is very cool and informative. I learned alot about sri lanka and am thinking of going there this coming May! Keep it up!
26th February 2011
Tuk Tuks in Negombo town

nice tuk tuk

Tot: 0.625s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 26; qc: 201; dbt: 0.2864s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.7mb