Lizard trauma & elephants


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka » Sabaragamuwa Province » Pinnawala
September 10th 2006
Published: November 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Still having trouble sleeping so I watched a DVD on my laptop. When I got up I noticed that there was something on the wall - a lizard!! A big one! Had a panic and went round the room SWAT style making sure that all my bags were shut so that it couldn't get in anything then ushered it out of the room with an umbrella. Really.
Had a fantastic day today. Went to an elephant orpahanage at Pinnawela. On the way stopped at a pineapple plantation and ate pineapple cut fresh from the tree. The orphanage was amazing. The elephants ranged from 6 weeks to 30 years old and included one that had lost 1/2 of one leg because of a land mine. You could just walk around getting really close to the elephants, they are so used to people although there were plenty of workers around in case anything went wrong. As usual it rained heavily and I got soaked! On the way back stopped at an ayurvedic garden and learnt about all the plants and herbs that are used. The guide that took me round invited me to lunch with him and his mother and to a wedding, although that might not happen apparently as the brides father has just died!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0248s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb