The most beautiful train journey - Kandy to Bandarawela


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka » Central Province » Kandy
December 8th 2013
Published: January 5th 2014
Edit Blog Post

KandyKandyKandy

Kandy station
I love trains. To me it's the best way to travel. No traffic, beautiful views, colourful people. So civilised! I have yet to go to India and experience the trains there - I have been warned I might not hold such a romantic view afterwards but today's journey from Kandy to Bandarawela was one of the best I have been on so far. It takes six hours of climbing and circumnavigating the highland region until you come out above the valleys and can see miles of tea plantations, mountains and sweet little villages. The train itself was reasonably comfortable and the carriage next to me was full of one big happy family laughing and singing the whole way. We seem to have lost our ability to stay close to our families in the west, and I did feel a twinge of jealousy watching them share looking after the old and young, eating a big family picnic and clearly enjoying each others company. After the train had passed the steep drops they open the doors so you can hang out if you want to. I loved the idea but was too scared to!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

KandyKandy
Kandy

A carriage for clergy - the trains here are so quaint
KandyKandy
Kandy

My train
KandyKandy
Kandy

View from the train door - as close as I dare get!


Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 64; dbt: 0.051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb