First Day... sort of


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Taejon
February 21st 2012
Published: February 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Before I came here, a lot of people told me I was "brave." I shrugged it off, thinking, "What's so brave about staying in another country for a while?" Well, I think I found out today...

So the flight from Austin to San Francisco was about 4 hours. I thought... not bad. In the layover time between San Fran and Korea, I got some lunch/breakfast. By the time I found a place, got my food, ate it and paid the bill, it was 15 minutes until my flight! I ran to the gate just as they were announcing that all passengers should be on board for my flight, and they were about to close the gates. I was the last to enter the plane. I was relieved, but also pumped with adrenaline, which did not help the 12 hour flight.

On the flight, I swore to myself that on the flight back, I would pay a little extra for some damn leg room. The economy seat I was in didn't have enough space to even put my bag under my chair without having to push my legs up underneath me on the seat. But, it was cheap, and I got what I paid for. Totally learned my lesson.

Finally, I get to the airport in Korea. I looked around for a sign that said my program's name, but to no avail. I was pretty sure there was supposed to be an desk with my program's name on it where I was supposed to check in, but I didn't see it. Then, some Korean man started following me around, asking where I was going, pulling on my luggage, telling to I should go with him. I was like, "Who are you? Quit touching my things." He said he was a taxi driver and he would take me to Daejeon (where the orientation is), though I knew it was over two hours away! I told him I didn't want a taxi, but he persisted. I looked at the papers my program had mailed me. It said, "All teachers are responsible for arranging their own transportation from the airport to orientation." So, I thought... maybe I was wrong. Maybe there is no desk. I told the taxi guy I needed a bus, and he left me alone after that. I bought a bus ticket to Daejeon, and everything went downhill from there.

On the bus, I met a woman named Mandy. She said she was a professor at a local university. When we got off the bus, I grabbed the paper that had the address of the orientation venue on it. The taxi driver couldn't read it, because it was in romanized letters, rather than Korean Hangeul. Mandy came over to try to help, but it was no use. Then, someone walked by who spoke a little English. He helped me get my luggage in the cab, and he spoke to the taxi driver for me. He even offered to go with me in the cab to explain to the cab driver where to go. After I got in the cab, though, he shut the door and walked away, and the cab driver sped off! I was like, WHAT THE HELL!!!

After about 20 minutes of going in circles, the cab driver got angry. I pulled the cab over and started yelling at me in Korean. I couldn't understand a damn word he was saying, but I knew it was not nice. I took out the business card my program coordinator in Korea had given to me with his number on it. I pointed to the number, and he called it. After it rang a few times, an automated message came up, and the cab driver got even angrier. He looked back at me and said, "IT NO WORK!!!"

At this point, I thought... I'm going to end up in a ditch somewhere tonight. I wonder how they will identify my body. Maybe, the tear-shaped scar under my right eye? Maybe dental records? I had no phone, no internet, no way of contacting anyone who could help me. I was freaking out, and then realized I was crying and hyperventilating all at the same time. The cab driver started yelling again. Then, I realized I had Mandy's number. Mandy, my guardian angel... there was hope after all! I gave her number to the cab driver, he called her, and she answered! She gave him instructions to meet her in front of a coffee shop. We drove there, and she met us. The cab driver took my cab fare and gave me my change with a glare on his face. I didn't even care. Mandy was here!

Mandy invited me to stay with her for the night, and even helped me with my luggage. She had internet at her apartment, which she also let me use. I e-mailed the program coordinator to ask for the address in Hangeul, as well as his cell phone number. I told him my "situation." I wrote my boyfriend, Edward, too. I was sure it would stress him out, but I would have felt bad if I hadn't told him what was going on. I e-mailed my friends in Seoul and Daejeon for their phone numbers, too.

The next morning, I checked my e-mailed and I had heard back from everyone. The program coordinator e-mailed me to let me know there actually had been a desk at the airport for me, and I must have missed it. He sent me the orientation address in Hangeul, and I forwarded that to Mandy, so she could pull it up on her phone to show the cab driver for me. Again, she helped me with my luggage and showed the cab driver where to take me. omg Where would I be if not for Mandy? lol

The cab driver said he knew exactly where this place was. He took me there, and he was nice to me. He helped me load my luggage in the cab, and took it back out for me when we got to the orientation venue. When I saw my program's name, I almost cried with relief.

I went to my temporary dormitory, and met my roommate. She is super sweet, and she said she was so glad she has a roommate, because she was afraid she wouldn't get one. She helped me get to my mandatory health screening on time, and I even caught lunch afterwards.

Now, I am back in the dorm, with access to internet and food and other people who speak English, and it is awesome. You know what? I am brave. lol My "first" day in Korea is actually my second, but it's my first day in the right place here. Hahaha

Well, thanks for reading my crazy ranting. I you feel up for listening to more of it, I will soon post another blog to update you on my continued adventures in South Korea...

Advertisement



21st February 2012

OMG! I am so glad you are okay. I can't imagine how scary that had to have been. Love you
3rd March 2012

Thanks, Liz!
I need all the support I can get. hahah. but really.
3rd March 2012

Thanks, Liz!
I need all the support I can get. hahah. but really.
21st February 2012

Hi
I'm so proud of u!! I miss u!! I loved ur blog!! Glad ur ok now. Keep it updated I'm gonna check it out too!! Be safe!! Love you!!
3rd March 2012

Thanks, Rosie!
I love you! Thanks for reading my crazy rantings. lol

Tot: 0.194s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1297s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb