1st training session + more


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
September 3rd 2006
Published: September 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

My Dorm BedMy Dorm BedMy Dorm Bed

Yes I am a mushroom in Korea!
Had breakfast/lunch with Duncan this morning.

He told me a little more about him self over the morning bulgogi (which was very, very nice and different, not like the stuff you get at home) - for those not in tune with Korean Cuisine, it is bbq beef in AUS, but here is is bbq beef stew you have with rice).

He told me he was in Athen's and the first TKD athelete to represent South Africa at the Olympics. He was beaten first round by the Gutalamia guy, who also bet the AUS guy. Needless to say, I was a bit shocked/surprised at this, as he is such a humble guy.

He also introduced me to some of the Thai team today, most of the overseas teams who are training at the school eat at the same place as we do (the little shop on the corner).

Was told that the women sitting across from us was the Athen's bronze medalist...- again my jaw dropped!... After that the Phillipine's national team rolled up and had lunch.

Everyone is very friendly here, which is a relief. Most of the teams are off to Hotels in the next
DuncanDuncanDuncan

Unflattering photo of Duncan mid chew. Dish is BiBimBap.
couple of days, and then back to the school, before heading for the World cup in Thailand.

This afternoon's session was interesting. Both the Thai national team & South African teams were there.

What started to be a slow session turned out pretty intense. We spent about 30 mins stretching, 30 mins running and some light kicking, then into mitt kicking for about 30 mins..working solely on motion/counter activity. This was then followed by a 30 min soccer game outside (which our team won of course), with some of the thai team and the korean boys.

What strikes me most about the training was not the intensity as such - you really have the option to go at your own pace - but the explosiveness at kicking that the the korean and thai teams have. Move around with one of the thai player this afternoon - needless to say I got my arse handed to me.....(but uninjured). Watching these guy mitt kick was also something to watch...they attack it like there is nothing but to kick it, and kick it hard/fast.

I also meet Mr. Lee today, who is the School's head coach. He offically welcomed
The HillThe HillThe Hill

One of many hills - this one leads to the Restuarant I would eat most of my meals at whilst I am in Korea (Honam).
me, and told Duncan to take care of me..(so I kinda have been adopted by the South African team - colours are the same (green and gold)..so not to fussed.

So from there, I was taken out to dinner by the team and coach, for Korean BBQ Pork.

Still trying to figure out the photo's for now, and working on something so I hope it works.

Will tell you more in a couple of days, with 'hopefully' more pictures.

Signing off for now.
Colby.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb