Korea... Four Months On.


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
September 13th 2006
Published: September 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Wecome Mr DunkWecome Mr DunkWecome Mr Dunk

My school received me with open arms.
It’s the middle of September, almost four months since arriving in Korea, where has all the time gone?

I arrived in a whirlwind of confusion back in May. After being taken straight to my school from my flight, looking rather disheveled and worn, I was introduced to my school master. An experience I will never, never forget. Initially I thought I might be turned away as this stern, serious looking man looked me up and down; I could tell he was thinking, “what is this they’ve sent us”. Then a smile broke and I’ve been treated like a king ever since. The formalities and paper pushing, lesson plans and the like, are often tedious, but it’s part of the job and I knew that before I started. The kids are fantastic and I don’t have any discipline issues like many English teachers I know, they are a joy to be around. School lunches are great as well, without the need for an Essex wide-boy to change the regime. I’m working in the public school system, so I’m actually an employee of the Korean government. Before starting work I (along with 90 other native English teachers) were sent to a hotel
My classroomMy classroomMy classroom

This is my nice, modern classroom. TV, Internet, air-con...
for an orientation. This week was not only good for teaching pointers and cultural awareness, but also a great opportunity to meet new friends. Indeed it was here that I met my girlfriend, Tiem. Tiem’s from London and strangely enough lived only a stones throw from me in Brixton, funny that we should meet halfway across the world. My friend’s Chelsea and David who I studied with in Ban Phe then traveled with have also come to Seoul; plus my friend Jennifer, who I worked with in London has just arrived. I’ve a nice group of people around me which makes me very happy.

I’m based in a city on the outskirts of Seoul called Ansan. It’s a new city and hardly aesthetically pleasing on the eye, but it has everything I need, and it’s only an hour into central Seoul. Seoul is a splendid city with plenty to do and see, there is always something going on. I’ve yet to explore much further than the outskirts of Seoul as I used my holiday time to jet off the Philippines (photos coming soon), but we’ve planned a trip down to Busan in a few weeks.

That’s kind of
My apartmentMy apartmentMy apartment

My apartment is new, clean, and cosy, just oh so small?
it. Well that’s it if you leave it four months to post a blog and forget all the little things that make living here so interesting. There will no-doubt be an update soon.

Until then…



Additional photos below
Photos: 52, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Ansan!Ansan!
Ansan!

The brooding tower blocks that make up my city, Ansan.
The towers and the riverThe towers and the river
The towers and the river

These towers are extremely photogenic, I'll have hundreds before I leave?
Football FeverFootball Fever
Football Fever

The stage in my local park hours before Korea's frist world cup match.
They are so dominating?They are so dominating?
They are so dominating?

The towers have so much character (I promise this is the last for now, there are more!).
Insadong ArtistInsadong Artist
Insadong Artist

The cultural area of Insadong in Seoul is bustling with artisans and street performers.
PortraitsPortraits
Portraits

Portraits on an Insadong wall.
Rice CakesRice Cakes
Rice Cakes

The procedure of making rice cake sweets, is displayed in Insadong.
Cool MarketCool Market
Cool Market

This market/shopping centre is brilliant
Ssamzie MarketSsamzie Market
Ssamzie Market

The design is crazy, each floor is sloped so there are no stairs.
TeashopsTeashops
Teashops

The backstreets of Insadong.
Seoul's Art CinemaSeoul's Art Cinema
Seoul's Art Cinema

This is Seoul's answer to the NFT!
As dusk settles the lights come on.As dusk settles the lights come on.
As dusk settles the lights come on.

Near Hongik University, a good drinking area.
Can't quite make it out?Can't quite make it out?
Can't quite make it out?

The Korean text (Hangal) is actually quite easy to learn, however you then need to know the language.
Seoul and BeyondSeoul and Beyond
Seoul and Beyond

A view from Namsan Mountain/Hill.
View of the cityView of the city
View of the city

Another view from Namsan Mountain
Seoul TowerSeoul Tower
Seoul Tower

Seoul Tower sits proudly on top of Namsan Mountain.


Tot: 0.285s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 14; qc: 82; dbt: 0.093s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb