Fun Game & Happy Life


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
April 17th 2012
Published: April 17th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Cherry BlossomsCherry BlossomsCherry Blossoms

My street! :)
I've got SEOUL!

I just arrived in South Korea last night, and though I'm pretty jet lagged from the fourteen hour flight, I'm too excited to sleep. When I arrived a man was standing in the airport with a sign with my name on it, (a lifelong dream of mine...haha). He couldn't speak a WORD of English, not even hello, but me, being the huge risk-taker that I am, just hopped in his van and an hour later I was in the heart of Seoul, standing in front of my new apartment.

The first night, Jed and I ate at a Korean BBQ restaurant. When we walked in we took our shoes off, and plunked right down on the floor. They served us kimchi (the most classic Korean appy), followed by course-after-course of veggies, bugs, noodles, and mystery meat, all thrown into this sizzling pot in front of us, cooking as we ate! After much confusion I managed to ask where the bathroom was. The lady gave me flip flops and brought me outside and behind the restaurant to an outhouse with just a hole in the ground... quite an interesting experience for my first night!

They are
View from my apartmentView from my apartmentView from my apartment

Unreal view... a mountain, tons of Korean buildings and churches, with glowing crosses at night...
allowing me to take today to rest, and then its off to work tomorrow! I've spent the morning wandering the streets, and getting used to my new neighbourhood. I seem to have arrived just as the cherry blossoms are in full bloom! They're gorgeous.

Our apartment is right by a huuuge market! As I was strolling through it today, I received many stares, and a few "hello's" from shy but intrigued children. The food is unreal- in Canada where you would see bins of candy and chocolate, here they instead have bins of dried fish and fruit. As well, there is live eel, sting ray and blow fish for you to pick out your favourites!

I saw a claw vending machine for kids to win a prize... the funny thing is, instead of winning a doll or candy, you win cans of BEANS or soup!! Only in Korea.

Anyway, I'm off to explore more...hope I don't get lost!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

My kitchen/laundry roomMy kitchen/laundry room
My kitchen/laundry room

Such a mod kitchen eh?
Korean-style claw gameKorean-style claw game
Korean-style claw game

Fun Game and Happy Life!


19th April 2012

Yay for a travel blog! Yes. I totally googled you to find it. Those are actually little cookie type things in those vending machines :P but they are red-bean flavored! And Cherry-Blossom was my favourite time of year there. So gorgeous. Hope you loved the Korean BBQ. You MUST try Dak Galbi. By far my favourite meal :)
19th April 2012

Fun and Happy Life!
Hi Yen Hope you have a fun & happy year in Korea! Post more pix!!

Tot: 0.283s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0582s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb