The food...mmm...


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
June 29th 2011
Published: June 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Ok so my classes are 9-12 and 1-4 on Mondays, Wednesdays and Thursdays. This means a lot of food to be consumed so I don't pass out in the middle of a lecture. I'll start with the chocolate. There is loads of Asian chocolate that reminds me of Japan. One in particular is Crunky. Oh my gosh those Crunky bars are amazing. I feel like I haven't missed snacking between meals, maybe because there's little time to eat and by the time I finish lessons I'm so tired I just want to sleep, or drink.

One thing that differs Western food from Korean is the amount you get for your money. 3000W (about £1.70) gets me a good meal from the canteen. It usually consists of a plate of meat, rice, soup and several small side dishes like kimchi (pickled cabbage) and greens. The side dishes vary from day to day. We had small balls of sweet potato today and I've seen people it small little eggs as their side dish. In my ready meal I got a cube of tofu which had some stuff on the end. I wasn't feeling adventurous that day though. The people are so healthy here for just this reason. It's little bits of everything, hardly any stodgy food and soup to fill up on with little bit of veg in it. I've really been enlightened by the different way of eating, and hope to incorporate it back in England.

For me, it's quite easy to eat the traditional food, except for anything vinegary tasting. The main meals I really enjoy, but I'm still getting used to kimchi. I'm trying my best to be adventurous but I'm too scared I won't like it! There was also this weird rice drink thing that was grey and it tasted bizarre. A sweet drink? I don't really know but it was good to try in case it was the best thing I ever had.

Also I've been eating sushi that costs about 800W (40p) for occasional breakfasts and lunches. 40p. FOR FOOD.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0215s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb