Life Is Better with 돌솟 비빔밥 (dolsot bibimbap) and 참치김밥 (tuna kimbab)


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
May 2nd 2011
Published: May 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

And so, I return. Again. I'm back in Korea for a few months to do research for a short story collection I'm working on, and boy, am I glad to be here. I arrived in Seoul yesterday with no travel issues or snags along the way. Fortunately, I'd stayed up all night a couple nights before I left, and only slept two hours the night before I left (to finish all of my work/grading before I left), so getting used to jet lag has been fairly standard for me (it was like I was pre-gaming for this). Like the last time I returned, Korea feels oddly "normal" to me--though I've had to remind myself a few times of things to do or say or ways to get things done. I've already had a few of my Korean favorites (see the title) and can't wait to engage in the culture/food/etc. some more and rekindle some old friendships.

I plan to spend most of my time here in Seoul researching about violence against women and the culture more generally. I'm working on a collection of short stories that are based in/set in Korea, and as the stories have tended to center a lot on issues of gender in Korea, I thought this might be a nice addition. Fortunately for me, the Women's and Gender Studies Program at USC thought that this was a good idea, too, so I've come over here with some funding under my belt. Woot. Now, here's hoping that my research works/pays off. Most of the time, I'll be volunteering with and interviewing folks at local NGOs that deal with women's rights and domestic violence issues. I'm still making some of my contacts now, but I'm set to meet with one of the NGOs tomorrow afternoon. Here's also hoping that my language skills continue to get rekindled as well... ^^

I've spent most of my day today getting settled in and revisiting some old haunts near Ewha (where I studied for a few weeks when I lived here in 2007) and trying to set up meetings/etc. with the non-profits. I'm hoping for another productive (if more active) day tomorrow, perhaps.

Speaking of active, I'm also going to try to find a Taekwondo Dojang here that might let me practice there for a few weeks... We'll see. I might have to stick with biking/running along the Han River near where I'm staying...

All right, well, back to work for me. I hope y'all are well, and I look forward to updating you on my progress as I tramp around my old stomping grounds!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb